Review: Fueled (Driven #2) by K. Bromberg

Summary:

What happens when the one person you never expected suddenly happens to be the one you’ll fight the hardest to keep?

Colton stole my heart. He wasn’t supposed to, and I sure as hell didn’t want him to, but he crashed into my life, ignited feelings within me that I thought had died forever, and fueled a passion that I never knew could exist.

Rylee fell out of that damn storage closet and into my life. Now I don’t think I’ll ever be the same. She’s seen glimpses of the darkness within me, and yet she’s still here. Still fighting for me. She is without a doubt the saint, and I am most definitely the sinner.

How is it the one thing neither of us wanted—neither of us anticipated that fateful night—has us fighting so hard to keep?

He steals my breath, stops my heart, and brings me back to life again all in a split second of time. But how can I love a man who won’t let me in? Who continually pushes me away to prevent me from seeing the damaged secrets in his past? My heart has fallen, but patience and forgiveness can only go so far.

How can I desire a woman who unnerves me, defies me, and forces me to see that in the deep, black abyss of my soul there’s someone worthy of her love? A place and person I swore I’d never be again. Her selfless heart and sexy body deserve so much more than I’ll ever be capable of giving her. I know I can’t be what she needs, so why can’t I just let her go?

We are driven by need and fueled with desire, but is that enough for us to crash into love?

Review:

**4 RACING STARS**

“I race you, Ryles”
“I race you too, Colton.”

For everyone who said this would be a roller coaster ride— you were not kidding! Sweet Jesus the gamut of emotions that I had reading this book was crazy! The ups and downs and corners at times frustrated me but I am so invested I cannot and don’t want to get out!

“I need you in my life, Rylee. I need you to help me continue to see the color. To slow things down. To allow me to feel. I need you to be my spark … Please be my spark, Ry…” he pleads as the words cause his lips to brush against mine.”

Fueled started off right where the last one ended but this time, we got to have an insight into the broken boy. The prologue is a flash back to Colton’s childhood and it was fucking devastating like please punch me in the heart it hurts so much i can’t even!

tumblr_miou1hOGxY1ruh1qno5_250

Spiderman. Batman. Superman. Ironman.

I never thought such a quote would fuck me up everytime it appears in the book. If you read Fueled you will know what I mean and goddamn if it won’t make you emotional. Colton’s POV only showed how strong the demons he tried fighting every day of his life. My heart goes out to this man who was emotionally closed off yet so open and giving, overly confident yet devastatingly vulnerable, dominant yet kind and considerate, infuriating one moment and then can melt and swoon you the next. Seeing him trying to open up to someone for the first time even though he has this constant fear that she will leave once she learned his past was beautiful.

“I might not be able to tell you the things you need to hear with the traditional words you need to hear them in, but I swear to God, Rylee, I will try. And if I can’t, then I’ll show you. I’ll show you with everything I have-anything it takes-where your place is in my life”

God, I really love Colton but now let’s talk about Rylee. My sweet feisty baby! I already said this in my Driven review but I will say it again, K. Bromberg was able to write Rylee Thomas as a compassionate and selfless character while not being a doormat! She was understanding and determined to fight for Colton and at the same time remaining her strong sense of self worth. She held on to what she believes in and at times, her obstinacy got me frustrated but only because I know what she doesn’t so really, I respected her decisions.

“Fight, Colton! For you. For us. For me. You don’t get to pull away from me. You don’t get to walk away without a second thought. I matter, Colton. I deserve the same more than you do. What we have is not inconsequential.”

They tried to navigate through their relationship with their own baggage weighing them down. It was not smooth. There are lots of drama and angst but they were trying! And ugh I RACE THEM SO MUCH for it!

“We’re not broken, baby… we’re just bent. And bent’s okay. Bent means we are just figuring things out.”

And let’s not forget the sizzling hotness factor here. The sexual chemistry between Colton and Rylee was so damn intense, I needed to cool down.

I loved, I hated, I cried, I laughed, I squealed. I was emotionally spent by the end but I devoured it and I am glad I did. My only concern was that mothereffing cliffhanger!!! K. Bromberg how could you do this to us again?? I’m asdfghjkl

rheeza    calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

