Review: Rogue (Talon #2) by Julie Kagawa

23168406Summary:

Ember Hill left the dragon organization Talon to take her chances with rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues. But Ember can’t forget the sacrifice made for her by the human boy who could have killed her—Garret Xavier Sebastian, a soldier of the dragonslaying Order of St. George, the boy who saved her from a Talon assassin, knowing that by doing so, he’d signed his own death warrant.

Determined to save Garret from execution, Ember must convince Cobalt to help her break into the Order’s headquarters. With assassins after them and Ember’s own brother helping Talon with the hunt, the rogues find an unexpected ally in Garret and a new perspective on the underground battle between Talon and St. George.

A reckoning is brewing and the secrets hidden by both sides are shocking and deadly. Soon Ember must decide: Should she retreat to fight another day…or start an all-out war?

Review:

Rogue came out 28th of April and I finally got my hands on this beauty! Damn, what a great sequel to an awesome book. I love this series so much! *clutches heart* Julie Kagawa did it again, thank you thank you thank you.
Ember has fled Talon with Riley after being sold out by her own brother. So much for your being siblings, right? But now not only St. George is after her, also Talon is. At the end of Talon, Garret betrays St. George, his brothers, and helps Ember flee.

“I am in love with a dragon.
Let the Order condemn me, I mused, perhaps my first truly rebellious thought in a lifetime. Let them call me a traitor and hunt me down. For thirteen years, I had followed commands, livid by the rigid code of St. George, become their perfect soldier, only to discover the Order I’d dedicated my life to was wrong. Everything I thought I’d knew was a lie. The only real thing was the girl in my arms.”

And now he has to pay the price: execution at dawn. But Ember is a stubborn little thing and convinces Riley to help free Garret and they end up sneaking into a St. George compound, manage to get him out and fly. Literally, fly. So now there’s three of them on the run… while Ember’s own brother gets the task to find her and bring her back. Trouble in dragon paradise.

“You okay?” 
“A little burned, a little sore. Nearly died a couple times. The usual. You?” 

And that’s not the only thing, Ember obviously has feelings for Garret, but her inner dragon calls out to Riley and the two guys hate each others’ guts. Fun road trip and hide out that is. So while they try to keep theirselves hidden from St. George and Talon, Ember also struggles with her feelings.

“You have gone mad for the girl, haven’t you?” Lowering his arm, he raised a shaggy eyebrow at my expression. “Don’t try to deny it, mate.” He gestured at me with the bottle, sending a spatter of Mountain Dew across the white bedcover. “I saw the two of you in the doorway and you were a half second away from a full-on snog fest.” 
“Dragons don’t ‘snog’, idiot.”
“Oh, sod off, you know what I mean.” 

I loved this book so much!!!! It’s written from four different pov’s, Ember’s, Garret’s, Riley’s and Dante’s and that might seem a lot, but trust me; it is not confusing or annoying at all. It makes everything clearer to see it from another person’s perspective. And I just loved all the characters more and more throughout the whole book. Well, the good ones, not those bastards working for Talon (yes I’M TALKING ABOUT YOU DANTE).

I can not wait until the third book (Soldier) comes out and in the meantime I’ll just reread. And reread again.. and possibly.. again.

amycalloway sisters

 

Leave a Reply

