Review: The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan

28187

Summary:

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse-Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends — one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena — Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

Review:

Let’s start by saying that I’m 23 years old, and event though I’m a little ashamed that I’ve waited so long to read this, I didn’t find it to be a child book. I didn’t even see many similarities to Harry Potter, as many say. Honestly, did they read a different book from me?

It’s funny how humans can wrap their mind around things and fit them into their version of reality.

I watched the movie when it came out and, although I loved the cast, I didn’t like it that much, so it kind of ruined my excitement for the books. But then this fandom has some of the most beautiful fanart I’ve ever seen! And so I finally came around to read it. I wasn’t expecting to love it so much but I did.

“Why can’t you place a blessing like that on us?” I asked.
“It only works on wild animals.”
“So it would only affect Percy,” Annabeth reasoned.
“Hey!” I protested.

I was immediately hooked with the story, which is fast paced (seriously, these poor kids have no chill) and interesting. I loved how greek mythology was so accurately revisited. Especially the gods! They are so hot??? I just… I don’t know I’m pretty sure I’m in love with Poseidon… and maybe with Ares… and probably with Zeus. I’m sure I’m going to fall for many more before I finish this series.

“What if it lines up like it did in the Trojan War… Athena versus Poseidon?”
“I don’t know. But I just know that I’ll be fighting next to you.”
“Why?”
“Because you’re my friend, Seaweed Brain. Any more stupid questions?”

I was expecting a little more from the writing style but in some ways I was happy with it because it fits perfectly with Percy’s character and his age, I do hope it will change throughout the books though. I love how goofy and sassy Percy is, he was so much fun to read about. 

“You drool when you sleep.”

I had to make room for Annabeth among my favorite female characters, because she’s just awesome. You’ll see Percy being all clumsy and cute and then there’s Annabeth slaying everything and be all cool about it. (it’s clear that they’re meant to be together and live happily ever after) I’m going down with this ship! manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

