Review: The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2) by Rick Riordan

28186

Summary:

The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea, Riordan’s series combines cliffhanger adventure and Greek mythology lessons that results in true page-turners that get better with each installment. In this episode, The Sea of Monsters, Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come.

Review:

It’s official! I am obsessed with this series!!

Before I could figure out how to apologize for being such an idiot, she tackled me with a hug, then pulled away just as quickly. “I’m glad you’re not a guinea pig.”
“Me, too.” I hoped my face wasn’t as red as it felt.”

So another year and another quest for our little hero, son of Poseidon. I love that each book has a quest, mainly because I love finding out at the end how it’s all connected in a bigger scheme.

“Powdered donuts,” Tyson said earnestly. “I will look for powdered donuts in the wilderness.” He headed outside and started calling, “Here, donuts!”

The more I read the more I get invested with the characters, old and new ones. We are slowly introduced to more gods, and we also get to know better old characters and their past. Percy and Annabeth are definitely my favorite characters, and I’m loving seeing them growing up. This was funny as ever; Riordan’s writing radiates sassiness.

That Perseus always won. That’s why my mom had named me after him, even if he was son of Zeus and I was son of Posidon. The original Perseus was one of the only heros in the greek myths who got a happy ending. The others died-betrayed, mauled, mutilated, poisoned, or cursed by the gods. My mom hoped I would inherit Perseus’s luck. Judging by how my life was going so far, I wasn’t too optimistic.

This was so freaking good. Plus Annabeth hugged Percy and later she kissed his cheek, I squealed in excitement. And then that ending??? Whoa! Need to start the next one now.

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

