Review: The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #4) by Rick Riordan

2120932

Summary:

Percy Jackson isn’t expecting freshman orientation to be any fun. But when a mysterious mortal acquaintance appears on campus, followed by demon cheerleaders, things quickly move from bad to worse.
In this fourth installment of the blockbuster series, time is running out as war between the Olympians and the evil Titan lord Kronos draws near. Even the safe haven of Camp Half-Blood grows more vulnerable by the minute as Kronos’s army prepares to invade its once impenetrable borders. To stop the invasion, Percy and his demigod friends must set out on a quest through the Labyrinth – a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn.

Review:

Seriously, how is it possible that this series keeps getting better??

“Be careful of love. It’ll twist your brain around and leave you thinking up is down and right is wrong.”

I love how much Percy and all the other characters are growing up, how the writing’s changing according to it, and also their decisions and their problems! Even though Percy seems a lot more scared of girls than mosters. That cutie.

“I’m calm,” Rachel insisted. “Every time I’m around you, some monsters attack us. What’s to be nervous about?”
“Look,” I said. “I’m sorry about the band room. I hope they didn’t kick you out or anything.”
“Nah. They asked me a lot of questions about you. I played dumb.”
“Was it hard?” Annabeth asked.

This book, action packed as usual, also introduced a bit of romance and jealousy and it was glorious! Annabeth isn’t really happy with the new girl in their squad (don’t worry babe you’re obviously Percy’s favorite). I love how girls in this series are so badass, they don’t need anyone to save them, or kiss them (they’ll be the ones kissing heroes alright, no problem).

“I couldn’t miss Percy’s fifteenth birthday,” Poseidon said. “Why, if this were Sparta, Percy would be a man today!”
“That’s true,” Paul said. “I used to teach ancient history.”
Poseidon’s eyes twinkled. “That’s me. Ancient history.”

I adored Poseidon showing up for Percy’s birthday! Sally’s reaction was priceless. I love when Percy gets some father-son time with the god (I’m in love with Poseidon so).

“Percy, lesser beings do many horrible things in the name of the gods. That does not mean we gods approve. The way our sons and daughters act in our names… well, it usually says more about THEM than it does about us.”

More new characters to love (I’ll be forever crying over Calypso and her sad fate). I can never predict what will happen next and that’s amazing. Honestly, I just finished The Last Olympian, so I’m a bit emotional… review to come!

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

