The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus #1) by Rick Riordan

7736182

Summary:

Jason has a problem.
He doesn’t remember anything before waking up in a bus full of kids on a field trip. Apparently he has a girlfriend named Piper, and a best friend named Leo. They’re all students at a boarding school for “bad kids.” What did Jason do to end up here? And where is here, exactly?

Piper has a secret.
Her father has been missing for three days, ever since she had that terrifying nightmare about his being in trouble. Piper doesn’t understand her dream, or why her boyfriend suddenly doesn’t recognize her. When a freak storm hits during the school trip, unleashing strange creatures and whisking her, Jason, and Leo away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood, she has a feeling she’s going to find out.

Leo has a way with tools.
When he sees his cabin at Camp Half-Blood, filled with power tools and machine parts, he feels right at home. But there’s weird stuff, too—like the curse everyone keeps talking about, and some camper who;s gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist that each of them—including Leo—is related to a god. Does this have anything to do with Jason’s amnesia, or the fact that Leo keeps seeing ghosts?

Review:

Rick Riordan is my new religion!

Jason scratched his head. “You named him Festus? You know that in Latin, ‘festus’ means ‘happy’? You want us to ride off to save the world on Happy the Dragon?”

When I started this I thought it would be good but I was worried it would be repetitive and unoriginal, but, yeah, Rick surprised me once again!

Piper gripped his hand and followed him, “If I fall, you’re catching me.” “Uh, sure.” Jason hoped he wasn’t blushing.
Leo stepped out next. “You’re catching me, too, Superman. But I ain’t holding your hand.”

I loved the new characters! As you may have noticed by the quotes so far Leo is precious. I really hope he’s going to meet Percy soon because these two should get along well. I love Piper, and I loved that we got to see a different side of the Aphrodite cabin. Jason is the love of my life, he’s very different from Percy, he’s a bit more serious, and more confident, but he shares a good dose of Percy’s sassiness. There’s a bit more romance in this one, since the characters are older, but Rick managed to balance it with the action perfectly.

“Love is powerful. It can bring the gods to their knees.”

I adored how everything was connected and to see old characters through different eyes. And guys this thing about roman demigods is seriously so awesome?? I can’t wait to read about them in the next book, even though I’m scared to death for Percy and percabeth, I might have sobbed a couple of times about it.

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

