Review: Kick Push by Jay McLean

25834515

Summary:

There’s a single defining moment within every skater.
It lasts only a second. Two if you’re good.
Three if you’re really good.
It’s the moment you’re in the air, your board somewhere beneath you, and nothing but wind surrounds you.
It’s the feeling of being airborne.

The sixteen-year-old version of me would’ve said it was the greatest feeling in the world.
Then at seventeen, I had my son.
And every single second became a defining moment. Even the ones that consisted of heartbreak when his mother left us.

Seventeen. Single. Dad.
That’s what my life became.
Yet, every day, I managed to find that feeling of being airborne.
Or at least I convinced myself I did.
But I lied—to myself and to everyone around me.
Until she showed up; Tanned skin, raven dark hair, and eyes the color of emeralds.

You know what sucks about being in the air?
Coming down from the high.
Sometimes you land on the board and nail the trick.
Then kick, push, and coast away.
Other times you fall.
You fall hard.
And those are the times when it’s not as easy to get back up, dust off your pads and try again.
Especially when the girl with the emerald eyes becomes your drug…
And you become her poison.

Review:

JAY THAT WAS SO RUDE! WHAT A CLIFFHANGER! I’M A MESS!

I couldn’t understand how anyone could turn their backs on their family… and yet here I was, facing nothing but backs.

Jay McLean is one of my favorite authors, her More series one of my favorites ever; there’s just something about her writing, her stories and her characters that I love so much, I can never get enough.
This one is a companion to Where the Road Takes Me, which I loved, and I loved seeing Blake and Chloe again, they even made me cry, especially Chloe, she’s a tough one. You don’t need to read that in order to read Kick Push, but I highly recommend that you do, you won’t regret it.

“There are some sacrifices greater than love. And some loves greater than any sacrifice. Tommy’s greater than both.”

I’ve been complitely in love with Josh since Where the Road Takes Me, and this book just magnified my feelings. He’s an amazing guy, and dad, and boyfriend, and son, and whatever, he’s perfect. He’d do anything for Tommy’s happiness and honestly, every scene with those two just reduced me to a puddle of tears. Sweetest dad-son relationship I’ve ever read about.

“His hands are rough.” “Well, he uses them every day and he works hard.” I sit on the edge of my bed and look up at her. “But they’re gentle.” She smiles warmly. “And safe. His touch is safe.”

In comes Becca, a girl with a really difficult past. She finds a safe place with Josh and Tommy. I loved these relationships development, and the way we find out, a little piece at a time, her story. I loved seeing this girl opening up to love and life, and I loved that it wasn’t easy.

“So what’s the problem?” “That. The real and outside world.” He shrugs. “Fuck the real world then. We’ll just live in our own.” “That’s not possible, Josh.” “You think?” He arches an eyebrow and dammit he’s cute. “Watch me make it possible.”

But there are just so many blows one can take before they explode, and that’s  what happenes in this book. It was really sad to see characters I loved so much, going through so much, my heart broke for them.

And there’s nothing sadder, nothing harder in the world than watching the person you love fall apart right before your eyes, and you can’t say or do anything to change it.

I adored the ending! Even though it left me crying for hours, and I’ll probably cry until the next book comes out, but there was just something so beautiful about it all.

“You know what comes after you kick and push? You coast. Coast with me, Emerald Eyes?”

So go get this book, and get ready to kick, push and coast.

manuela calloway sisters

One thought on “Review: Kick Push by Jay McLean

  1. Pingback: Review: Coast (Kick Push #2) by Jay McLean | Calloway Books

Leave a Reply

