Review: Making Faces by Amy Harmon

18301124

Summary:

Ambrose Young was beautiful. He was tall and muscular, with hair that touched his shoulders and eyes that burned right through you. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She’d been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have…until he wasn’t beautiful anymore.

Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl’s love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior’s love for an unremarkable girl. This is a story of friendship that overcomes heartache, heroism that defies the common definitions, and a modern tale of Beauty and the Beast, where we discover that there is a little beauty and a little beast in all of us.

Review:

I shall start this review by saying: READ THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW!

The story in making faces is so heartbreaking and at the same time heartwamingly beautiful I couldn’t stop reading it, not even to eat, and I devoured it in 7 hours (I stayed up until 5 am). 

Making faces is a story about how love can help you overcome all your fears and help you feel alive. The story is divided in chapters that have the title of a bucketlist wish, and it tells a story in it related to that especific wish. The first stories are from when the characters of the books are in high school and later on it takes us to present time. As the characters grow their stories become more complex and, frankly, sadder, but it is a sadness worth crying over. Seriously I cried so much it was unbelievable.

tumblr_miou1hOGxY1ruh1qno5_250

(here’s a cute gif of my love Harry Styles that sums up my feelings about this book)

I loved this book. It has a light and a voice that makes you realize how lucky you are of having the life you’ve got and reminds you that you have to live it to the fullest. I can’t really write this without tearing up, I loved the characters, all of them, I felt reflected on Fern so much it was a bit scary and Ambrose was so well done (pre and post war differences). But I think the character of Bailey Sheen deserves a especial mention in this review, where do I start with Bailey, his character is incredibly unique and optimistic, he has a terminal disease but he still sees life full of oportunities and possible scenarios. He dreams big, and believes he can make everything he sets himself to do. Beautiful Bailey Sheen. I believe we can learn so much from him.

Anyways, I don’t wanna say too much or spoil anything so I will close up this review now just by saying READ IT READ IT READ IT. You know it has to be good because I’m never this agressive about you reading anything (lol).

paula

calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

