Review: The Ruby Red Trilogy by Kerstin Gier

883537917254055 17343391

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Summary:

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Review:

I just finished this trilogy and I’m very much amazed! I read it all in a few days so I thought I’d write one review for it all. Don’t worry it’s spoiler free!

“You were talking to that niche in the wall again, Gwyneth. I saw you.” 

“Yes, but it’s my favorite bit of wall, Gordon. I’d hurt its feelings if I didn’t stop and talk to it.”

Oh my, I loved this so much! It was so original and fast paced, funny and mysterious. I enjoyed it so much since the first page, to the very last one. It was impossible to guess from the start how things would turn out in the end, although a few things I guessed right. But it’s good enough to keep you rooted on your couch, turning page after page, sometimes screaming because you just need to know what the hell is going on!

“If we were in a film, the villain would turn out to be the least-expected person. But as we aren’t in a film, I’d go for the character who tried to strangle you.” 

Gwyneth is an awesome female character, I loved that she always thought with her own head, not letting anyone tell her what to do or how to do it. But without being stupid about it. She was so witty, and I loved her sarcasm. I really loved that she was so human, though. I mean she does unexpectedly travel back in time, and she freaks out (!!!). I’m all for badass female leads, but sometimes they’re way too badass, I mean when they’re seventeen it’s  a bit unrealistic. Gwyneth was brave and badass alright, but she also had some moments in which it all became too much, and she just broke down. And that was brave. It was the perfect balance between badassery and vulnerability.

Nick demonstrated twenty-three ways of communicating without words by fanning himself with a napkin. “This one means oops, your fly is open, sir, and if you lower the fan a little and look at someone over the top of it, it means wow, I’d like to marry you. But if you do it the other way around, it means ha ha, we are now at war with Spain.”

I loved all the other characters. Gwyneth has a set of friends to envy. The people she works with are awesome, her best friend is awesome, her pet (but don’t ever call him that or he’ll probably eat you alive) is awesome, her very complicated family is awesome, and her partner in crime, Gideon, is awesome! Oh the romance was so very sweet and satisfying, with enough angst to make you crave more.

“There are no shy women,” announced the count. “The modest way they cast thier eyes down merely his their naivety.”
I was fast coming to the conclusion that there was no need to feel afraid of him. He was only a self-satisfied old git who hated women and liked the sound of his own voice.

The time-travelling theme is very complicated, though, and I feel like some things weren’t explained well enough, so I still have many unanswered questions, but the plot was so well developed, and the characters and villains so interesting that I honestly don’t care. I never would have guessed how it was going to end, or who could be trusted.

“Ready?”

“Ready when you are.”

I’m just sad that it all ended so quickly! I would have really liked one more chapter, maybe set a few years later, to know what happened to all the characters, but sadly this will have to do.

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

