Review: Sustained (The Legal Briefs #2) by Emma Chase

22926485

Summary:

A knight in tarnished armor is still a knight.

When you’re a defense attorney in Washington, DC, you see firsthand how hard life can be, and that sometimes the only way to survive is to be harder. I, Jake Becker, have a reputation for being cold, callous, and intimidating—and that suits me just fine. In fact, it’s necessary when I’m breaking down a witness on the stand.

Complications don’t work for me—I’m a “need-to-know” type of man. If you’re my client, tell me the basic facts. If you’re my date, stick to what will turn you on. I’m not a therapist or Prince Charming—and I don’t pretend to be.

Then Chelsea McQuaid and her six orphaned nieces and nephews came along and complicated the ever-loving hell out of my life. Now I’m going to Mommy & Me classes, One Direction concerts, the emergency room, and arguing cases in the principal’s office.

Chelsea’s too sweet, too innocent, and too gorgeous for her own good. She tries to be tough, but she’s not. She needs someone to help her, defend her… and the kids.

And that — that, I know how to do.

Review:

OH MY GOODNESS WHAT A RIDE! I just finished this book right this moment, I jumped off the couch and just bounced around, smiling and squealing like an idiot. I feel so full of joy and perfection and tenderness, and I just need to hug something *grabs a pillow* Ok now I’m gonna take a deep breath and try to explain why I’m feeling like this.

I never realised that the downside of getting to know a woman before I screw her is the possibility that I might not want to screw her after I know her. That a personality could have such a devastating effect on desirability. It’s depressing. My whole worldview is blown to bits.

After a scare due to one of his random hook ups, Jakes swears he’s going to get to know a woman before getting to business with her, but he’s never known before how much someone’s personality can influence his desire for her. So when he meets Chelsea, beautiful, smart, strong, and adorable Chelsea, he really wants to get to the good stuff with her, but well, there are complications. Chelsea is the legal guardian of her decesed brother’s six kids! For a guy like Jake even one kid would probably be too much, or at least that’s what he’s always thought. But these kids are just too awful not to love them immediatly. Despite what he thinks, Jake is an amazing guy, and since he’s been through some terrible stuff himself when he was growing up, he simply can’t walk away from this family that so desperatly needs help.

The racket reverberates down the second staircase and spills out into the kitchen, and the two screeching, running kids who are making it do laps around the island like a fucked-up Hunger Games version of ring-around-the-rosy.

Not that Chelsea isn’t doing a great job. She quit her life and plans to be with the kids, and she’s just incredible. I really don’t know whether I love Jake or Chelsea more. But, anyway, only after a few months after the loss of their parents, they’re all pretty shaken, and likely to get in trouble. Having an attorney in their life can only be useful. I loved how Jake was completely helpless with them, he had no idea what he was doing but love was all they needed, and love is what he gave them.

I want her – this fearless, stunning woman. And I want the kids. Those perfect, awful, amazing children – whom she loves with every inch of her soul. I want them to be mine. Mine to hold, mine to protect and teach. Their joy, their laughter, their love. I want to come home to it, bask in it, be the reason for it.
But even more than that, I want to deserve them.

There are so many moments that just melted my heart, other that broke it, and then other that put it back together. Emma Chase is my to go author whenever I want to read something heart-warming, funny and steamy, but this time, WOW, she outdid herself! I laughed out loud most of the time, and then cried, and squealed a lot, and swooned because Jake (oh my goodness, Jake!) he’s something else.

And I blink at the ceiling, seeing stars. “Holy fuck.”
Her back shudders with a giggle. “It was kind of a religious experience, wasn’t it?”

Indeed it was a religious experience! I read this book in one sitting, because once you start you just can’t stop. I’m really sad it’s over, this was definitely my favorite book by Emma Chase, and that’s saying something, because her Tangled series is amazing! But now I’ll just wait patiently for Appealed, Brent’s story, which comes out November 17th *cue squeal* And what’s more, Emma Chase knows how to write male povs, I just want to read her books for the rest of my life! It’s just incredible, and hilarious.

“You just make everything… better.”

Honestly, as Jake would say, just fucking read this book!

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

