Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

18392495

Summary:

Surprises abound and sparks ignite in the highly anticipated, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To:
– find the liquor cabinet blindfolded
– need a liver transplant
– drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To:
– well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this return to the world of My Life Next Door is a story about failing first, trying again, and having to decide whether to risk it all once more.

Review:

I picked up this book expecting a cute summer read, with lots of adorable scenes, first love and some heart-break, because, seriously, that’s necessary to make a good book. Yeah, I was so wrong!

“What did you have on your feet this time?” I ask.
“Toes,” he replies easily, and grins at me, lifting one long foot to put it on the sill of the car, wiggling his toes for emphasis. There’s a jagged open cut near his big toenail. “Well, toes and blood. Cut it on a shell. But I made it all the way to the pier this time. Very Navy Seal, huh? Ran right through the pain, because I am just that full of testosterone.”

Well, okay there was definitely a lot of cuteness, first love, and heart-break, but it was really dark, with complications that I’d never have expected. I couldn’t really understand the characters at first; they aren’t the usual naturally good characters, they are really unique. Alice is a girl who knows the power she has over boys, she’s a bit cynical, witty and funny, she has to take care of her whole family so she’s also very mature and responsible, and doesn’t want to waste her time on boys.

“I’ve been sober nearly two months, but I have yet to go cold turkey on assholicism.”

Tim is her little brother’s best friend (well he’s only one year younger than her) and he’s always had a crush on Alice. He’s been down a rough path though, with a drinking problem, and his dad basically threw him out giving him an ultimatum to finally grow up and become a man, or he’ll end up on his own. Now he’s better and he’s staying with the Garretts. He’s working hard, but he doesn’t really know what to do with himself. Things get worse when a “problem” from his dark days comes knocking at his door, and he’s in a way forced to grow up, although it kind of comes naturally to him. And you’ll be in for real cuteness and broken hearts.

“Tim, I’d chew you up and spit you out.” She slants forward, yanks the straps of her bikini behind her neck, ties them, and settles back.God. I almost can’t breathe.
But I can talk.
I can always talk.
“We could progress to that, Alice. But maybe we start with some gentle nibbling?”
Alice shuts her eyes, opens them again, and gives me an indecipherable look.
“Why don’t I scare you?” she asks.
“You do. You’re scary as hell,” I assure her. “But that works for me. Completely.”

Somehow, though, Alice and Tim really work. I loved the dynamic between the two of them. I especially loved that even though they’re young, there’s talk about sex, and it wasn’t a taboo at all. It was dealt with perfectly in my opinion. The problem is that there’s someone else in the picture (no, don’t worry, no love triangles) and Tim has to make a decision that will change his life forever.

“It’s not rocket science, Nan. You show someone they matter to you—do whatever it takes to show that.”

Written from both Alice and Tim’s povs, this was a book that completely surprised me. There was a bit of everything, with that dark cloud surrounding the characters that made their development and the turns that the story took, more interesting and heart-felt.

“Everyone who makes a mistake isn’t doomed to be an asshole forever.”

Don’t expect to know how things will turn out in the end because you won’t guess it right! I definitely recommend it.

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

