Review: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

7741325

Summary:

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

Summary:

Hi Amy here *waves* Sorry I haven’t written a review in a while but I’m making it up with this one (I hope). I read this one when I was on vacation and I can honestly say it is now one of my favorite standalone books.

I was horribly bookish, to the point of coming right out and saying it, which I knew was not socially acceptable. I particularly loved the adjective bookish, which I found other people used about as often as ramrod or chum or teetotaler.

It’s Christmas, Lily’s parents are in Fiji and her brother is spending break hooking up with his boyfriend. So Lily is lonely. She decides to leave a notebook in the Strand, a huge bookstore in New York, with a dare for the person who reads it.. and this so happens to be Dash. Dash, who is not a big fan of Christmas at all, figures he has nothing better to do and decides to do the dare. And that’s how it all starts. Instead of leaving the book in the Strand when he has figured out her riddle, he leaves it somewhere else and just like that, Lily and Dash run through the city to get the book and do each others dares.

Luckily, I always travel with a book, just in case I have to wait in line for Santa, or some such inconvenience.

THIS BOOK IS SO FUCKING CUTE OH MY GOD. I started it and I didn’t put it down until two hours later. It’s super funny, cute and fluffy and also quite relatable for the booknerds among us (and if you’re not a booknerd what are you even doing here?)

“Who’s Lily?”
“Some girl.”
“Ooh… a girl!”
“Boomer, we’re not in third grade anymore. You don’t say, ‘Ooh… a girl!’”
“What? You fucking her?”
“Okay, Boomer, you’re right. I liked ‘Ooh… a girl!’ much more than that. Let’s stick with ‘Ooh… a girl!”

The characters are great. Lily is really relatable and super adorable. And I loved Dash’s confidence. He reminded me a bit of Augustus Waters, but different. The book has a lot of hilarious scenes and I often ended up laughing out loud. Even though it takes place during Christmas, I found I didn’t mind at all reading it on a hot summer day. So go go go read it and love it and hug it to your chest when you’re done. I dare you.

“I can assure you,” I told her, that while I believe gay sex to be a beautiful, joyful thing, I do not think that I myself would find it particularly joyful, and thus my reading about its joys was all a part of a great pursuit.”

amy calloway sisters

One thought on “Review: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

  1. Pingback: Recommendation Saturday: standalones | Calloway Books

Leave a Reply

