Review: Heart-Shaped Hack by Tracey Garvis-Graves

25630718

Summary:

When Kate Watts abandoned her law career to open a food pantry in Northeast Minneapolis, she never dreamed it would be this difficult. Facing the heartbreaking prospect of turning hungry people away, she is grateful for the anonymous donations that begin appearing at the end of each month. Determined to identify and thank her secret benefactor, she launches a plan and catches Ian —a charismatic hacker with a Robin Hood complex—in the act.

Ian intrigues Kate in a way no man ever has. But after learning he’s snooped around on her personal computer, she demands retribution. Impressed with her tolerance and captivated by her spirit, he complies and begins to slowly charm his way past her defenses. Time spent with Ian is never boring, and Kate soon finds herself falling for the mysterious hacker.

But Ian has enemies and they’re growing restless. In the hacking world, exploiting a target’s weakness is paramount, and no price is too high to stop an attack. And when Kate learns exactly how much Ian has paid, she’ll discover just how strong her love is for the man who has hacked his way into her heart.

Review:

This was so weird! I was about to stop reading it after 20 pages, then I don’t know, something happened and I got sucked in, I couldn’t put the book down anymore!

“What are you saying? That you’re a thief who steals from other thieves?”
He wrinkled his nose, and it was adorable.
Stop! Thief!
“It sounds so distasteful when you say it like that. I prefer master appropriator of ill-gotten funds. You can call me master for short.”

I picked this up because Jessica Park, author of some books I adored, recommened it on her facebook page, and so I had to read it. But then, well, Ian basically hacked his way into Kate’s life, kind of stalking her, (in no way do I like or support when something like this happens in books) and I was so pissed off because I wanted to hate it, but I just couldn’t because you can feel that there was no malice behind Ian’s actions, and it was clear that if Kate told him to stop he would without second thoughts. Then there’s that this book is written in third person, and it felt impersonal at first, I couldn’t find it in me to care about the characters. But that all changed a few pages later, and I fell in love with these two.

“So you want a nice guy, but you don’t want him to be boring.”
“Yes. Nice and not boring and not into threesomes and no cocaine. I mean, is that too much to ask?”
“No, although I feel compelled to point out that the threesome thing is pretty universal.”
“Oh for God’s sake,” she muttered.
“That doesn’t mean we’re all going to try to convince you to participate in one. It’s just that very few guys would be like, ‘Go away, extra girl,’ should one happen to climb into our bed when you’re already in it. That’s all I’m saying.”

When Ian and Kate started seeing each other, I just couldn’t help falling for them! Ian is so impertinent and inopportune and I couldn’t help finding it endearing and hilarious. Kate is such a strong woman, who knows what she wants and how to get it. She’s very driven and selfless. And she can definitely handle Ian, so I never felt like he had the upper hand with her. Kate loves the adventure that being with Ian is, but she’s also smart enough to put herself first. If things got out of hands she was ready to run.

“I’ll win you over eventually. I’m very charming that way.”

I found the story and the setting very interesting and unique. There’s a plot twist that will make you scream and pull your hair, at least I did. I cried like a baby, but I loved how things turned out.

“You made it so damn easy for me to love you”

So, yeah, this is kind of a weird book at first, but if you’re a bit open minded about it, and if you can go through those few first pages without wanting to call the police or a therapist, I’m pretty sure you’ll end up loving it just like I did. Give it a chance, because it’s really beautifully written, it’s funny, steamy, cute, and heart breaking.

 


					
Leave a Reply

