Review: Forever With You (Wait for You #5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

24357334

Summary:

In the irresistibly sexy series from #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout, two free spirits find their lives changed by a one-night stand…

Some things you just believe in, even if you’ve never experienced them. For Stephanie, that list includes love. It’s out there. Somewhere. Eventually. Meanwhile she’s got her job at the mixed martial arts training center and hot flings with gorgeous, temporary guys like Nick. Then a secret brings them closer, opening Steph’s eyes to a future she never knew she wanted—until tragedy rips it away.

Nick’s self-assured surface shields a past no one needs to know about. His mind-blowing connection with Steph changes all that. As fast as he’s knocking down the walls that have kept him commitment-free, she’s building them up again, determined to keep the hurt—and Nick—out. But he can’t walk away. Not when she’s the only one who’s ever made him wish for forever . . .

Review:

I’m overwhelmed. Forever With You is definitely contending for the first place as my favorite book in this series with Wait for You. And if it weren’t for the emotional breakdown I had at the ending, for something that happened with Cam and Avery, it would probably be my favorite. Anyway, this was really different from the other books, in a good way.

My heart rarely flopped, and I hadn’t really thought about Nick during these two weeks. All right, that wasn’t a hundred percent true. I had thought about him a time or two or ten, but those thoughts were fleeting. So my reaction, the way I felt my cheeks flush and how my spine stiffened, surprised me.

Stephanie is my favorite female character in this series. She’s a strong, beautiful, and confident woman, she believes in love, even if she’s never felt it, and she’s enjoying life and sex while waiting for the one. I loved how all the double standards between men and women were basically smashed in this book. Stephanie fights for her rights, on work, and in her personal life.

His hand lingered in the space between us and then he cupped my cheek. The move startled me as he dragged his thumb under my lip. “It’s really a shame.” I frowned. “What is?” “Us,” he said, his voice low as his thumb made another sweep, and my breath caught. “That you and I are the way we are. It’s a damn shame.”

Nick has other reasons for his no commitment lifestyle (I’m not spoiling that because you’ll love it); so when they meet and there’s this crazy attraction between them, they’re both on the same page that whatever happens, it’ll be a one time thing. When a few weeks later Steph shows up at Nick’s bar, not for him, but not not for him either, he freaks out. He acts like a jerk, and Steph definitely puts him in his place. So, they agree on being adults. But then something stucks them together.

We were virtual strangers, with our own issues and pasts, who believed we were being responsible, only to find out life had completely different plans that neither of us foresaw. And the hug might not seem like a big deal, but it was a start, a beginning of our linked futures.

There isn’t unnecessary drama, Steph and Nick talk a lot, they’re both very bold, but at the same time scared of something they’ve never felt before; so there aren’t misunderstandings. What happens between them is life, and they are responsible of every action and every choice they make. Every emotion is so intense and beautifully described, I found myself crying with the characters more than once.

“Every time,” he said against my mouth. I had to catch my breath. “What?” “Every time you see me, I want you to do that.” His nose brushed mine as he tilted his head, kissing me once more. “I want the first thing you do is kiss me. I want that kind of hello.”

Even if they have no experience in relationship, between them it’s easy, they just work. And it’s pretty much one of the most adorable relationships I’ve seen developing.

Truthfully, though, there were times when the opinions of virtual strangers like that of Nikki Glenn did get to me. Moments when whispered words and harsh looks had cut deeper than they should, moments when words like “slut” and “whore” were laced with enough venom to take me down.

I just wanted to spend a few words on another topic. Yes, Stephanie is that Stephanie, the one who’s been with both Cam and Jase (lucky girl, to be honest). I don’t remember well how I felt about her in the previous books, but I think I didn’t like her much, and I hate myself for judging her when I knew very little about her. Bow down to JLA for taking the character that was an obstacle, that was “slutty”, and giving her a book. Steph can just shut down whatever people say about her, but there’s so much one can take, and sometimes words cut deeper than weapons. Women should be the first to not slut-shame, to be against double standards, but unfortunately, too often, women are women worst enemies. This book goes really deep into this topic, and that alone is a great reason for me to recommend it to everyone.

manuela calloway sisters

 

Leave a Reply

