Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

15507958

Summary:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Review:

Hiiii lovelies! Oh, it’s been a long time and I am sorry for not writing a review in like 4 months, I am also, especially sorry to Manu, Amy and Rheez who have been handling the blog all this time *hugs you all and buys you cupcakes*. From now on I will try to write a review a week even if I don’t read anything (I will go back to last years books or something) but today I bring a good one.

*Cracks knuckles* *breathes deeply* I CAME OUT TO HAVE A GOOD TIME AND I’M HONESTLY FEELING SO ATTACKED RIGHT NOW!!!! This book had me crying on a beach in Mexico (literally) like a crazy lunatic. It was so good and so heart-warming and at the same time heartbreaking. I was honestly not expecting the ending at all, this was supposed to be a fluffy enjoyable read however I found myself in front of so much more.

I would like to start with the characters; the way Louisa was portrayed is absolute perfection (in my opinion), I could feel everything she felt and even though I am not in her situation and I barely have anything in common with her, she was able to transmit so much. I loved her evolution throughout the story because it felt real, there were awkward moments, and some others in which the relationship backtracked a bit (understandable) and some other lovely funny moments and I think is one of the realest thing I’ve read lately. Will on he other hand is a less relatable character because of his specific set of circumstances, however it was so very easy to feel his pain and his different moods thanks to visual clues given by Lou. Both this characters and their realness is what made this story the piece of art that it is and I would highly recommend it to everyone, although maybe not if you are in a public place and don’t like crying in front of a bunch of people.

If you want a tale of love, life and heartbreak this is for you, but don’t forget to bring some tissues.

paula

4 thoughts on “Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

    • OMG! I’m so sorry I didn’t answer your comment before I just saw it *panics*
      but yes it made me cry so much but I wouldn’t want the ending to change, I think it was a great idea to do that and not what everyone would typically expect. Let’s see what After You is like 🙂
      – Paula

      Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t worry 😀 Sometimes comments kinda vanish for a little bit on here. At least the notification. I had that happen a few times…

        I’m a little bit afraid of After you, because I keep seeing more and more disappointed reviews of it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t read any reviews yet, but I don’t know, Mrs. Moyes will have to do a great work for me to like a love story between Lou and someone that is not Will. I still want to give it a chance, although now I’m more nervous.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

