Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

23734628

Summary:

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

Review:

Hiii it’s Amy! Sorry I haven’t been writing reviews in a while! I’m back now though and with a review of one of my favorite reads this year: CARRY ON!
I have to be honest, I didn’t like Simon and Baz much when I read Fangirl, but I was curious enough to read Carry On and ohmygod I’m glad that I did.

Nobody knows why my magic is the way it is. Why it goes off like a bomb instead of flowing through me like a fucking stream or however it works for everybody else.

Simon Snow is the chosen one, the one to save the Magickal World from the Insidious Humdrum. But yeah, he kinda sucks at it. Oops.

“He is our greatest threat and you are our greatest hope.” 

So Simon is destined to beat the Humdrum even though he don’t know how. And that while his roommate Baz is on his radar with every step he takes. But luckily Snow has Penny. Penny is smart and practical and loves writing things down on chalkboards to get things straight.

“Just when you think you’re having a scene without Simon, he drops in to remind you that everyone else is a supporting character in his catastrophe.”

Oh I want to say so much more about this book and its story but I can’t do that without spoiling, so I will not. BUT OHMYGOD!!!!!! I loved this book a lot and I’ve fallen head over heels in love with Baz.. *sighs dreamily*
I will tell a few things that are not spoilery but make the book awesome : 1. Baz, 2. Baz, 3. its written in different povs, 4. Baz, 5. its BRITISH, 6. Baz.

He smiles, and he’s made of trouble.

If you read Fangirl, you definitely have to read Carry On. It was funny, it was heartwrenching, it was perfect. Rainbow Rowell did it again.

amy calloway sisters

One thought on “Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I have the same feeling as you about Simon and Baz in Fangirl: I don’t really like them. And I’ve read a couple of pages of Carry On and put it down because I doubt that I’d enjoy it. But the way you fangirling Baz intrigues me that I think I’m going to continue reading it one of these days..

    Like

Leave a Reply

