Review: Naked and Far from Home by J.P. Grider

26232441

Summary:

Tia Mercury was a freshman in high school and had her first serious crush – on a senior who wouldn’t touch her. At least not until she turned eighteen.

Clinton Daniels was not your everyday teenage boy, and because his tougher-than-nails father wouldn’t let him forget it, Clinton became a loner. And learned to distrust everyone.

Until he met Tia.

She was sweet, she was funny, and she knew nothing about good music. It was the nineteen-eighties for goodness sake – time to turn off that AM radio crap. So, while Tia drooled over Clinton, he was busy making her mix-tapes.

She was falling in love. He was ignoring his heart.

See, Clinton had a secret. But sharing it could cost him their friendship, and he was not willing to risk losing the only person he ever loved.

Naked and Far From Home is a serious story that spans a decade. A tale about unconditional love and what two people are willing to look past to prove that love.

Review:

I just finished reading this book like 5 minutes ago; I took a deep breath and, I don’t know, I’m a mess. I’m not sure how to review this, I guess we’ll see when I get to the end of it.

Her face made me smile. It was a sweet face. A kind face. Soft. Plump. Pleasant. And her heart matched. It was full of love and of life. The effect she had on me took me by surprise, and I may not have known then, but Tia Mercury would become the most important person in my entire life.

So, what sold this book to me at first was the cover, which I found incredibly beautiful, and then the blurb intrigued me, because I love the ’80s. And I wasn’t disappointed. Those years were amazing, the music, the movies, the way of living life one tape at a time. Tia was only 13 years old when she met Clinton, who was 19, so that was a bit of an obstacle; but as any 13 years old girl with a crush, nothing could have stopped her. And it didn’t help that Clinton took it on himself to teach her everything about good music. So mix-tape after mix-tape, the two of them became friends, but that was never enough.

“I never felt a thing about anything until I met you. And now, now all I feel is everything. Everything I shouldn’t. Everything I never wanted to feel in the first place.”

Clinton would never touch her though, she was too young, and his feelings were pretty messed up. Tia was completely in love with him, but he always held back, he had a secret that he couldn’t even admit to himself, and Tia made it all so much more difficult. But they tried anyway, because they couldn’t help being with each other. They did love each other, just in different ways.

“Now you’ll always have a part of me with you. Through my tapes.”

“And in my heart.”

“And in your heart.”

Tia was very immature at the beginning of the book, rightfully so, and she grew up throughout the book, but not too much. Plus she’s a bit of a magnet for tragedies. And that’s probably what makes me so insecure about this book; I’m still not sure if it was too much, too much drama, beacuse, in the end, it all seemed purposeful to tell this story. This is a story of a girl, saving a boy, helping him figuring out life and himself. This book is almost entirely told from Tia’s pov, but I feel like it really was Clinton’s story. I don’t know how to explain this withough giving away big spoilers, so I’ll just say that the message behind this story is really beautiful.

“We, my darling, will always be.”

It’s a love story, but not your usual love story; there’s nothing typical about this book. And I loved that. It’s about different shapes of love. And no shape is lesser than the other. I’d say you have to give this book a chance, it might surprise you, as it surprised me.

manuela calloway sisters

4 thoughts on “Review: Naked and Far from Home by J.P. Grider

Leave a Reply

