Review: Untamed (Thoughtless #4) S.C. Stephens

SUMMARY:

The spotlight doesn’t only shine. Sometimes it burns.

Being the bad-boy bassist for the world’s hottest band has earned Griffin Hancock some perks: a big house, a fast car, and most importantly his incredible wife, Anna. The one thing it hasn’t brought him is the spotlight. Anna tells him to be patient, that his talent will win out. But Griffin is through waiting for permission to shine.

Without warning, Griffin makes a shocking decision and takes the gamble of a lifetime. Suddenly he’s caught up in a new level of lights, cameras, and chaos. One that pushes his relationship with Anna to its limits. Anna has always found his unpredictable behavior sexy, but lately he’s seen an ache in her eyes–and it has his soul in knots. Just as the recognition Griffin seeks is finally within reach, the thing he loves most in life could be slipping through his fingers…

REVIEW:

UNTAMED

It’s so difficult for me to rate this. My heart literally feels like it has been torn in half over this book – and particularly torn in half over my opinion of the characters.

Talk about being put through the ringer. After finishing it I just felt emotionally EXHAUSTED. S.C. had once again kicked my ass.



There are few books that I’ve read that made me want to drop kick someone because of anger, pull all my hair out because of frustration, and scream because of the pain. Thoughtless is definitely one of them. So why was I so excited to read Untamed, the 4th book in the series? One reason. KELLAN KYLE. Being one of my all-time favorite book boyfriends, I couldn’t pass on the chance to read about him even though he is not the main MC. And besides, even though Griffin had been an obnoxious asshole in the previous book, I am interested to see deeper in the heart of that persona. And boy did S.C. Stephens able to draw readers into the inner psyche of Griffin.

“Nobody put the Hulk in the corner. Nobody.”


Griffin Hancock is the imperfect hero that we love and hate. We cringe at the things he does and the decisions he makes but then he does something and you can’t help but feel for him. And I have to say this… I HATE HIM at the beginning, very much so that I almost say “Oh screw him, I’m done”! Honestly, he was the most self-absorbed, selfish and insensitive character ever! I knew nothing good will come out of his egotistical and brash action.

In fact, 70% of this book is HELL! Reading it is like watching a TRAINWRECK! I know it’s going crash and burn but I couldn’t look away, or more accurately, I couldn’t stop reading! I feel so angry, helpless and anxious! My emotions were driving me mad! And yes, it didn’t end well and I was a mess.

I shouldn’t sympathize with him because all the things that happen to him, all the unhappiness he experiences are his own doing, but I DID. I knew his actions had to catch up with him eventually but I still wanted a happy ending for him because he is not a bad person, just someone who made stupid decisions. I felt terrible for him. At times, I just wanted to shake him and at others, I just wanted to hug him.

When he started to realized his mistakes it was too late. He already lost everything. But he tried to redeem himself. He started to be more responsible. He grew up. That was also when I started to cheer for him because I saw that he was really trying to correct his wrong. The things he did to earn everything back was so painful to read. He literally stripped himself of any pride he had. It’s embarrassing to admit, but I’m not even sure I’m capable of what he did to turn everything around. He stepped up. Did the right thing for a change even though it was tough. And it broke my fucking heart. Nothing goes well for him, not even when he was trying his best to be good! Not until at the 10% of the end of this book!I couldn’t handle the angst!! It was too much!!

It was over…and after all of that, I’d lost.

By the way, I know that he was accounted for every bad thing that happened to him but I still feel a little pissed at the other members of the D-bags because though he didn’t go about it the right way, the D-bags did made him feel dispensable and he did acknowledged his mistakes, paid for it and made amends but the D-bags didn’t apologize for their mistakes. Especially Matt!

But Kellan. Oh you dreamy beautiful guy. This book proved how much of a good man he is. He was nothing but patient with Griffin even though he was an asshole to him and he is the only one who reached out to Griffin when he was so down.

@ Kellan Kyle:

Untamed felt like a self-discovery book for me than a romance. Nevertheless, it was love that redeemed him. His love for Anna and his children is truly the best part of him. And I have to commend Anna for be for being such a loyal, supportive and strong wife and mother. 

“Mrs. Anna Hancock…you are my best friend, my partner in crime, my reason for living, and the only thing that really matters to me. Forever only scratches the surface of how long I’ll love you.”

Griffin was just a flawed man who was so locked inside himself, he was blinded by what really is important. His flaws  resulted for him to commit mistakes. He learned that every actions have consequences like hate, destruction and loss. He can’t changed it but he can choose to be a better person for the people that is important to him- his friends, his family, his children and his wife. He became fallible. He became human. He became humble.  It was satisfying to see him grow and reaped the rewards of being a bigger person.

“I was choked up with emotion. I was humbled and gracious. I was ecstatic. I was…relieved.”

Overall, it inspired and moved me. If you are looking for a book that will suck you dry of every emotion possible then go ahead and try this one!

rheeza

One thought on “Review: Untamed (Thoughtless #4) S.C. Stephens

  1. Ow, I need to say that since 1st book I’ve loved Griffin in such a strange way hahaha. I mean, I always like the guys who are not the romantic one and Griffin is the perfect example. He’s totally an asshole, selfish show up man. Ok, you can be surprised but that’s all true. First of all, I’m brazilian and I didn’t know that there was a book 4 about Griffin as a main character, I found out it in a group on Facebook, ’cause here in Brazil, Untamed wasn’t realeased yet 😦
    So I stated getting crazy about this, I need to read the book about my favorite D-Bag character and got it in English. I read the whole book in 3 days, even when I was at work, I read it through my iPhone.
    I have to agree w/ you. During the story we feel different kinds of feelings, such as love and anger, not only for Griff, but for the other D-Bags. And of course, the most incredible in this book was the love he showed for Anna and the kids. I cried during some scenes ’cause it was too cute for me, I couldn’t handle it.
    I’m suggesting this story for all my friends. I guess they love Griff the same way as I do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

