Review: More Than Enough (More Than #5) by Jay McLean

22723768

Summary:

There’s no emotion greater than fear.
No ache greater than grief.
No sound greater than silence.

I’m grateful he showed up on my doorstep,
pissed off and angry at the world.
If he hadn’t, I wouldn’t be here.
And I don’t just mean here on this journey with him.
I mean here, in this world.

I wonder what events in all our lives—hers included—are The Turning Points? The points where we all determine that the fear of our pasts and the uncertainty of our futures are greater than our need for happiness.
Here.
Now.
While time and everything around us stands unmoving… who’s to say we can’t have it all?

We wanted it all.
We wanted it with each other.
We thrived on the chaos we created.
And ignored the Mayhem that ensued.
Because falling in love was easy.
But sometimes, love isn’t enough.

Review:

I finished reading More Than Enough yesterday and I’m still emotionally unstable. Jay McLean’s done it again. This book is so full of emotion, I’m still overwhelmed, with tears at the ready, and that’s definitely the best thing a book can do.

His smile is instant. It’s also hot. I’m pretty sure I hate his smile. And I’m definitely sure I hate him – or, at least, how he makes me feel.

There’s been a bit of a mayhem over this book, because you won’t know who the female lead is until you read it. Is it Heidi? Is it someone else? Who knows? Read it, and you’ll find out. I’ve heard some people waited till the book was out to ask who the girl was because if it wasn’t Heidi they wouldn’t read it. Well, I’m not going to say anything, but I love this series, I’ve loved it since the first book, and I’m completely in love with the whole gang, I wanted Dylan and Heidi too, just like everyone else, and I ADORED THIS BOOK! It’s not my favorite just because Cameron and Lucy are my faveset (that’s a word, at least for Lucy). But this book, and this couple is a close second. So trust Jay McLean to do the best with characters that she most likely love more than we all do.

I try to remember the color of her eyes, and the only thing I can come up with is sad. Her eyes are the color of sadness.

At the beginning of the book the Girl is going through some major heartbreak, holing up in her room and drinking too much, and Dylan, who’s just gotten back, angry with the world and in need of silence as always, is the only one she can stand to be around her. And that’s what he does; he holes up in her room with her, and they both find comfort in each other’s company. It was beautiful to unveil Dylan one layer at the time. He was the member of the gang we knew the least about, because he barely spoke, but we knew he was a great guy, and here, where he starts opening up, we have confirmation of that.

He kisses my lips. Just once. “You’re just a little broken. That’s all. Now you just have to let me be the glue that keeps you together.”

But the girl isn’t the only one who’s got a lot to deal with. Dylan has to face a lot of hurt himself, and it changes him, it changes them. Since Dylan was the glue that kept the Girl together, can she be strong enough for the both of them? Is love enough? Can they both move on from their past and really be together? Yep, I cried a lot, and I kept reading through the tears. It was so worth it.

“What the hell got into you?” I joke. She laughs and presses her face in the crook of my neck. “I read that book you got me.” “Yeah?” “It was a little more… erotic than the first one.” I chuckle, making her half sit up and look down on me. “What?” she asks. “Nothing.” I reach for my phone and send Cam a text.

Dylan: FUCK YEAH BOOKS!

And of course the whole more gang was there! I love the more gang! After 5 books, a lot of tears, love, and laughter, I truly feel like they’re my family. I loved seeing them going on with their lives, but still being together, still pulling pranks on each other, even in the hardest time, they’re all there for each other. It was so beautiful. And I laughed my ass off whenever they were together. Plus, we didn’t know, but Dylan (cue head lowered and moment of silence) is so freaking funny! He’s adorable, and so are his dad and his brother. I loved their dynamics.

“I was wrong. There’s no emotion greater than love. No ache greater than longing. No sound greater than you.”

I know this is the last book, but this series always leaves me craving for more. It’ll always be among my favorites, and all the characters will always have a glittered place in my heart.

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

