Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

20875599

Summary:

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day of her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Review:

I just finished reading November 9, I threw my copy on my bed ran out of my room to get tissues because I was (and still am) bawling my eyes out, and then ran back into my room to get my laptop to write this review. That’s beacuse I’m feeling so much right now, I’m feeling so much of every possible emotion; and that’s the reason why I love reading. So thank you, Colleen Hoover, for breaking my heart, yet again, and giving it back to me so much fuller.

I wonder what kind of sound it would make if I were to smash this glass against the side of his head. It’s a thick glass. His head is hard. The potential for a nice big THUD is there.

That’s the opening of this book, and it was enough to make me love Fallon. Just like a similar opening line was enough to make me love Sydney in Maybe Someday. Just like Sydney, Fallon is an incredible woman. She’s so passionate, funny, lovable, and so, so, so strong. There were so many moments in which I was so impressed with her, and I simply admired how brave she was. Fallon’s dream is to be an actress, but after an accident that left most of the left side of her body and face scarred, her career went downhill. Now she wants to move from L.A. to New York and try her luck there. Even though she’s still determined and full of hope, her confidence suffered a lot due to her scars, and it shows. Ben is the one who tries to make her understand that she’s the only one who truly cares about her scars; because any decent human will look past them.

Because I can’t stop staring at her, and that’s not like me. My mother raised me with more tact than this, but what my mother failed to teach me is that there would be girls like this one who would test those manners merely existing.

Ben… Ben… Ben is so… I don’t know I can’t find the right adjective to describe him. But if you’ve read any of CoHo’s books you know that she can write perfect boyfriends like no other. Ben will charm the pants right off of you. He’s a writer, so when he wants, he can truly work magic with his words. He made me blush, laugh, swoon, and generally fall desperatly in love with him. And that’s what happend with Fallon too.

An infectious burst of laughter meets my ears, and I’ve never been more thankful to have a semi-decent sense of humor. I’m not allowing this girl to leave my sight until I fet at least three of four more of those laughs out of her.

Ben and Fallon meet on a November 9th when they’re both 18 years old, in unique circumstances, since Ben pretends to be Fallon’s boyfriend; but the connection between them is crazy. They could talk about nothing for hours and I’d be there soaking it all in while hugging my beloved pillow. But they’re both so young, they have so much to experience and they both want to grow up as individuals before losing themselves in someone else. At least that’s what Fallon’s been brought up to believe. That’s how they come up with the idea of meeting up on November 9 for the next five years, without having contacts for the rest of the time. Hopefully they’ll end up together, but whatever the outcome is, Ben is going to write it all down for his book.

When you find love, you take it. You grab it with both hands and you do everything in your power not to let it go. You can’t just walk away from it and expect it to linger until you’re ready for it.

They spend together five days, in five years, and it’s amazing. Beautiful and heartbreaking. A lot happens every year, they both grow up and go through different experiences. But every time they meet it’s like the time spent apart never existed. And that’s believable because it’s exactly how it feels when you meet with a real friend you hadn’t seen for a long time. Of course there’s a lot that goes down, and their story isn’t easy. There are some plot twists that left me speechless with tears pooling in my eyes.

“Just forgive him already,” she says. “Glenn found a member of the male species he actually likes, and if you don’t forgive Ben you’ll break Glenn’s heart.” Ben and Glenn are both quietly staring at me. Glenn is giving me puppy dog eyes and Ben’s bottom lip is protruding. I can’t even. I shrug my shoulder in defeat. “Well, then. I guess if Glenn likes you, then that’s that. I have to go home with you.”

Even all the side characters were amazing, and wacth out for a little Ugly Love crossover (I cried like a baby for no reason at all). All the pain and all the tears were worth it, though. In the end I laughed and smiled through most of the book, and that’s probably even harder than making me cry.

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

