Review: The Iron Warrior (The Iron Fey: Call Of the Forgotten #3) by Julie Kagawa

18054085

WARNING: IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE PREVIOUS BOOK(S) THIS SUMMARY AND REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS. 

Summary:

The Iron Prince—my nephew—betrayed us all.

He killed me.

Then, I woke up.

Waking after a month on the brink of death, Ethan Chase is stunned to learn that the Veil that conceals the fey from human sight was temporarily torn away. Although humankind’s glimpse of the world of Faery lasted just a brief moment, the human world has been cast into chaos, and the emotion and glamour produced by fear and wonder has renewed the tremendous power of the Forgotten Queen. Now, she is at the forefront of an uprising against the courts of Summer and Winter—a reckoning that will have cataclysmic effects on the Nevernever.

Leading the Lady’s Forgotten Army is Keirran himself: Ethan’s nephew, and the traitor son of the Iron Queen, Meghan Chase.To stop Keirran, Ethan must disobey his sister once again as he and his girlfriend, Kenzie, search for answers long forgotten. In the face of unprecedented evil and unfathomable power, Ethan’s enemies must become his allies, and the world of the fey will be changed forevermore.

Review: 

After a very VERY long wait this book finally came out and I was very happy about that because if you read The Iron Traitor, you know it ended on a major cliffhanger and I might have thrown my book against a wall (I’m not confirming nor denying this). So yes, I was so excited to dive back into this world for the last time and read about Ethan and Kenzie and all the others.

Because that’s how things in the Nevernever always worked. Things were never so twisted, awful and completely horrifying that they couldn’t get even worse. 

So, spoiler(!!!) Ethan got stabbed by Keirran at the end of the last book and well, he died. Talk about cliffhangers, WHOA. But luckily this tough guy needs a little more than just being stabbed to die and after a long month in a sleepcoma, Ethan wakes up again to find out the Nevernever is on  the verge of a war with the Forgotten and Keirran is their leader.

“Normal day in Faeryland.” I gave a weary nod.

While the Courts prepare for war, Ethan is the only one who can stop Keirran and convince him this war is not what he wants. Together with his girlfriend Kenzie, her gremlin Razor and the friends they pick up along the way (Grimalkin and the Wolf are back too yay!) they go on their journey into the Between and the Deep Wyld to stop Keirran.

Before Kenzie and Keirran crashed into my life, before the Forgotten and the Lady, before the Nevernever chose me as its human champion, I hadn’t wanted anything to do with the fey. I’d barely wanted anything to do with my immortal family. Everything was different now. 

I hadn’t realized how much I had missed this world until I picked up this book and went back into Ethan’s head (that sounds weird but you know what I mean). His world is constantly upside down and full of danger and adventure and there’s never a dull moment. I remember him being that four year old boy in Meghan’s books and now he is a hot stud *wink wink*. I love his relationship with Kenzie and how he is determined to save Keirran.

“It’s not everyday your boyfriend comes back from the dead.” 

I was also thrilled to see all the old characters appear again: Grimalkin, Ash, Meghan, Wolf and of course Puck! I have a small spot in my heart for that prankster *clutches heart*.

“Hey Ethan Chase,” Puck greeted softly as I settled beside him, crossing my arms. “Back from the dead, I see. were there choirs of angels and twinkling lights? I’ve always wondered about that.” 
“Couldn’t tell you,” I muttered. “I don’t remember being dead.” 
“Aw, well, that’s disappointing.” Puck shook his head with a grin. “Dying sounds terribly dull. I was hoping you would prove me wrong.” 

This book was a brilliant end to a brilliant series, I loved every moment of it and I unexpectedly teared up when I found out I had reached the end of the book. Thank you, Julie, for writing this beautiful world and these beautiful characters. They’ve all made my life a little brighter.

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

