Review: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency #1) by Iain Reading

16145727

Summary:

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new series of adventure mystery stories that are one part travel, one part history and five parts adventure. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations.

After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty’s adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada and as the plot continues to unfold this spirited story will have armchair explorers and amateur detectives alike anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada’s Yukon, the harsh land made famous in the stories and poems of such writers as Jack London, Robert Service and Pierre Berton. It is a riveting tale that brings to glorious life the landscape and history of Alaska’s inside passage and Canada’s Yukon, as Kitty is caught up in an epic mystery set against the backdrop of the scenery of the Klondike Gold Rush.

Review:

Hello, it’s Amy! I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. The summary got me curious, but I didn’t really have an idea what to expect and I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. Turned out, I didn’t need to worry, because I loved it a lot!

Every proper story has both a protagonist and an antagonist- at least that’s what we learned in Mrs. Cox’s English Class. I suppose that makes me the protagonist- the heroine. (Aren’t we all heroes in the stories of our own lives?) 

Canadian girl Kitty Hawk has just finished High School and she’s going to spend her summer studying humpback whales in Alaska.. with her own floatplane. That’s right, Kitty is a pilot and has her own plane. Pretty awesome if you ask me. So Kitty spends her whole summer studying whales in Alaska and learning about the history of Juneau and the Yukon River and it’s gold. However, her summer doesn’t exactly end the way she would have thought it to be and runs into some – how shall I call it – trouble.. I won’t say anything else to avoid spoilers, in case you want to read it yourself.

“This is it,” I said to myself. “Let’s go find some whales.” And with that my adventure truly began. 

 I loved this book so much! It’s really original and refreshing to read and I loved that it was set in Canada and Alaska, places I hadn’t read about before. I also learned a lot about the history of these places and that was actually really interesting. I love learning about other countries and their cultures, so that being told in this book was a big plus for me.

 “You want to fly right?” Jumping back on the dock, he walked away. Reaching the harbormaster’s office, he looked back over his shoulder to smile one last time, and he made a bird out of his hands that he flew through the air as he turned the corner. “I want to fly,” I whispered and nodded to myself as I watched him disappear around the corner of the building. “You’ve got that right.” 

Like I said before, I really wasn’t sure if I was going to end up liking it, but exceeded my expectations. Kitty Hawk is a super cool protagonist, she’s funny, curious, daring and she’s in some ways very relatable. It was a story unlike I’ve ever read before and I can definitely recommend it you’re down for something new. Cue the bookhangover! I really want to read the sequels now *grabby hands*

“She’s the boss.”
Damn right I am, I thought. 

amycalloway sisters

Leave a Reply

