Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

20801166

Summary:

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.  But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship.

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together…

Review:

THIS BOOK IS SO DARN CUTE AND SO ORIGINALLY WRITTEN I LOVED IT SO MUCH AAAAAAAH!

“Who is your couple of the semester?”
“I can’t believe I haven’t told you. They’re a boy and a girl this time, Gabe and Lea. When I tell you they’re adorable, I mean they are adorable.” 

This book is amazing. It’s a lovestory, and before you go all blablabla, hold your horses, matey. It’s not just any lovestory. No, my friend. It’s not even told from Gabe and Lea’s pov’s. It’s told from the people around them. Yes you heard me. It’s told from their creative writing teacher. From their busdriver. From Gabe’s brother. From the baristas at Starbucks. From the bench and the squirrel in the park. And it is FABULOUS.

I see a boy and a girl. The girl gave me peanuts once and she always looks at the boy a lot. He looks at her too. But they always look at each other at the wrong second. But today they look at each other at the right second and they both smile so wide it looks like they’re laughing.
I hope they’re laughing.
I hope they like acorns. 

It’s told over the span of one school year and the chapters are basically months and within those chapters there mini chapters from different people who see Gabe and Lea daily. And even though you’re not in Lea or Gabe’s head, you’re still so very much invested in them and you want them to make it work.

“I thought you shipped him with yourself.”
“Well, obviously, in an ideal world. He’s into Lea though, I can tell. So if we can’t find happiness together, I definitely want him to find happiness with her.”
“Okay, Tab, tell me honestly. Have you been writing fanfiction about Starbucks customers?”

This is so bloody original, I want to thank Sandy Hall for this amazing book because it is SO WONDERFUL AND CUTE AND ADORABLE. Every pov was so different and yet they all wanted the same thing to happen for Gabe and Lea and I thought that was wonderfully amazing. It makes me wonder if many people in everyday life do this.

“I like the idea that we’re getting to watch their lives without them knowing. And I know that might sound voyeuristic and weird and pathetic, but it also makes me happy.” 

I can definitely recommend this book to everyone who’s into fluffy and cute lovestories. You will eat it up and love it and you will wonder about the universe and if that bus driver knew all along you and future partner were super fucking cute. So yes. Read it. Now.

Oh, these two sweethearts are going to be the end of me. 

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

