Review: Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency #2) by Iain Reading

18516023

Summary:

Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost is the exciting second installment in a new series of adventure mystery stories that are one part travel, one part history and five parts adventure. This second book in the series continues the adventures of Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot who has decided to follow in the footsteps of her hero Amelia Earhart and make an epic flight around the entire world. After flying across North America Kitty’s journey takes her down south to Florida where she plans to get a bit of rest and relaxation before continuing on with the rest of her long and grueling flight. As Kitty explores the strange and magical water world of the Florida Keys her knack for getting herself into precarious situations sweeps her headlong into the adventure of a lifetime involving mysterious lights, ancient shipwrecks, razor-toothed barracudas and even a sighting of the great Ernest Hemingway himself. This exhilarating story will have armchair explorers and amateur detectives alike anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept across the landscape and history of the Florida Keys all the way from Key West to the strange and remarkable world of Fort Jefferson and the Dry Tortugas.

Review:

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review and Kitty Hawk’s Flying Detective Agency is rapidly turning into one of my favorite series!

Is the damage the result of some long forgotten battle that took place here? I thought, the blinding sun making me a bit philosophical. Or is it simply the result of the classic battle that we all fight against the passage of time? 

After receiving and reading the first book and having fallen in love with Kitty Hawk, I was super excited to read the sequel and I was not let down at all. At first I didn’t really know what to expect; it takes place in Florida.. how was Kitty gonna be in a cool adventure there? But I should have known better, because knowing Kitty, she’ll end up someplace awesome. And in this book, it was The Keys and the Dry Tortugas.

The sunset was amazing, but the stars that came out afterward were even more beautiful, and I must have spent half the night lying out on the sand watching them sparkle and shine through the inky black canopy of the night sky

What I love so so so much about these books is that you learn a lot about the culture and the history of the places Kitty visits. It almost makes you feel as if you’re there with her, and going back and forth between past and present. You don’t have that in most other books, and I think it’s really refreshing and eye-opening. What was especially fun is that I have been to Florida and to the Keys two years ago, and I recognized some key (pun not intended) points but a lot was new for me.

“Please tell me you’re doing what I think you’re doing,” the little voice in my head said. I’m not sure what you think I’m doing, I replied, crouching and sneaking along the edge of the trees to the beach at the far end of the concrete pier. But, yes, I am.

And Kitty isn’t Kitty if she didn’t stumble across something she can investigate, which again happens in this book. I won’t say much about it, but it was very exciting and thrilling to read.

In the dim light, the stone seemed to have lost nearly all of its amazing luminosity. It was as though it had run out of magic and energy. Or maybe it never had any magic to begin with. 

I absolutely loved this book as much as I loved the first one and the fact that you can read them without having to have read the sequel (though I recommend it, because c’mon). Kitty is such a great protagonist, funny, adventurous, determined. And her curiosity is very contagious! Downside of these books is that it makes me want to hop on a plane and see the places Kitty has been, but unfortunately I don’t have the money do that (yet anyway).

For a moment I nearly forgot why I’d come out there and just spent a few minutes watching this magical underwater world in action. 

I can’t wait to start the third book, it’s already waiting for me and calling my name. Very loudly. Thanks Iain, for writing these books. Is Kitty named after the town Kitty Hawk in North Carolina or is that just a coincidence?

amy calloway sisters

 

 

Leave a Reply

