Review: F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

25828204

Summary:

Helena Conway has fallen in love.
Unwillingly.
Unwittingly.

But not unprovoked. Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered, and not even a little bit careful.
It could all be so beautiful…if he wasn’t dating her best friend. Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others.
Until she doesn’t.

Review:

Wow! I’ve read every book written by Tarryn Fisher, and still I never know what to expect. She doesn’t have a pattern that can be found in all her books, like it happens with most authors. The only thing that’s recurrent is how relatable the characters are, even the most immoral ones.

I find that my lips part, and my eyes become glassy when he speaks to me like he knows me. It’s intimate. I’ve always wanted to know myself and have never known where to begin.

Everything changes for Helena when she has a dream in which she’s married with her best friend’s boyfriend, Kit. Once she wakes up she realizes that in that dream she was someone she never thought she could be, and so Helena starts paying attention to Kit and the connection between them is instantaneous. But it’s only a connection, not love; that comes slowly throughout the book, as they truly get to know each other, and what being together would feel like.

I realize I’m vulnerable and most days I feel like a worthless human, someone a guy can cheat on and call it a mistake. I don’t want to be someone’s “girl who got away.” I want to be someone’s “girl who’d I’d never let get away.”

I loved that Kit helped Helena open her eyes, and that she comes out of that life she’s always had organized for herself; she takes chances and embarks on a journey that will help her find herself and who she can be, but never dared to become.

I won’t open my eyes. I don’t want to see what’s happening in his. I’ll fucking die if he looks at me like I look at him.

Helena is such a great character because she’s lovable, funny, and so real, her emotions and fears are so palpable; her thoughts are unfiltered, but she’s just inherently good so she puts everything aside to make the ones she loves happy. She eventually grows out of it on some levels, so that no one can take advantage of her. Kit is also wonderful; this is probably the cheesiest book Tarryn’s ever written, at least at the beginning. He’s a writer and he finds in Helena his muse. But he’s also confusing and infuriating.

If each of our lives represented a page in a book, happiness would be the punctuation. It breaks the parts that are too long. It closes off some things, divides others. But it’s brief, showing up when it’s needed and filling tired paragraphs with breaks.

This was such an intense and emotional read; the writing is compelling and beautiful. I found it real difficult to put the book down. And even now, that I’ve finished it, the characters won’t leave me.

manuela calloway sisters

 

Leave a Reply

