Review: Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency #3) by Iain Reading

17861210

Summary:

Following in the footsteps of her hero Amelia Earhart, Kitty Hawk sets off on an epic flight around the world and arrives in Iceland’s capital city of Reykjavik where she finds herself immersed in a beautiful alien world of volcanoes, Vikings, elves and trolls. Before she knows it Kitty is plunged head first into an amazing adventure that sweeps her across a rugged landscape where humans and nature exist side-by-side in an uneasy truce and magical realms seem to lie just out of sight beneath the surface.

Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue is the dazzling third installment of the Flying Detective Agency series featuring Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenaged seaplane pilot with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into – and out of – all kinds of precarious situations.

Review:

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. I was super excited to read it because Kitty Hawk in Iceland! I could see the awesomeness and I’m happy to tell that it didn’t disappoint.

“Iceland is unlike almost every other place on Earth in that it is a nation without pre-historic period of human habitation. It is a country without a past.”

I didn’t know much about Iceland before reading this book and I had never been there, though it is definitely on my bucket list. Reading this book just made me wanna go there even more. Seeing Iceland through the eyes of Kitty was amazing. It seems like such a wonderful country with crazy food and habits and oh my god if I could I would jump on a plane there rightaway. I’ve said this in my previous review, but Kitty wouldn’t be Kitty if she didn’t tumble in some crazy detective adventure. As always, I will keep this review spoiler free, but *whispers* this time it had to with the environment. And as boring as that sounds, trust me, this book was definitely not.

“What a strange and wild place Iceland is, I thought. It’s no wonder they have elves here.” 

Oh yeah, you will read about elves and other Icelandic stories and they are super interesting. One of my favorite parts about Icelandic culture in this book was the scene about the names and last names. I will not bother all of you with it, but for me, as someone who’s obsessed with names, I totally loved reading about that.

“We have a saying here in Iceland. Without a book in his hands, a person is blind.” 

I can ramble on for hours how much I love Kitty. She feels like she could be a person and that’s what makes a character great. She’s genuine, has a heart for stories and is way too curious, which gets her into all those crazy adventures. I can’t wait to read the fourth book. And you, reading this, if you haven’t read the Kitty Hawk books yet, what are you doing with your life?

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

