Review: This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

24529123

Summary:

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

Review:

I think it’s safe to say that this was one of my most anticipated books for 2016 and… it didn’t disappoint. Oh My God. My heart is a mess right now and my mind is all over the place. Wow. What a read.

“Abuelo always said there were two types of people in this world: those who belong to the soil and the good, rich earth, planting their seeds to blossom, and those who belong to the road and the endless horizons, carrying their home on their shoulders wherever they go.”

This is one of those books that will stick with you for at least a few weeks, taking up space in your mind and forcing you to think about it at random moments. It’s a heavy subject, a school shooting, and also very.. now. These things are happening today and I had never given much thought to it until reading this book.

“The hand with the gun trembles. He lowers it ever so slowly.” 

I am not really able to say much because SPOILERS but I can tell you the following. Great characters. Yes they were all flawed and had made their mistakes in the past, but that made them so real. They could’ve been you and me. I both loved and hated the different perspectives, mostly because one pov would end on a little cliffhanger and continue with another pov, making you wait three other pov’s before it would return. Very frustrating.

“What if none of the doors open?”
“Well, the alternative is dying, and I’m not in the mood for that today.” 

I’m glad I can say that I thought it was a really good book and that epilogue.. Gawd *clutches heart* I’m not okay.

“Dad always told me there are more stories in the universe than stars in the sky. And in every story, there’s the light of hope.” 

Now I’m going to stare at the ceiling and think about life for a while.

amy calloway sisters

 

One thought on “Review: This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

Leave a Reply

