Review: Six of Hearts (Hearts #1) by L.H. Cosway

22324683

Summary:

Step right up and meet Jay Fields: Illusionist. Mentalist. Trickster.

I think in triangles. You think in straight lines.
I show you a table and make you believe it’s a chair.
Smoke and mirrors, sleight of hand, misdirection. I trick and deceive.
But most of all, I put on a good show.
The world thinks I killed a man, but I didn’t. Bear with me. It’s all a part of the plan.
Revenge is what I want. I want it for me and I want it for her.
I want it for all six of us.
She doesn’t remember me, but she’s the reason for everything. She’ll be my prize at the end of all this–if I can hold onto my willpower, that is. Maybe I’ll slip up a little, have a taste, just a small one.
So go ahead and pick a card. Come inside and see the show. Look at my hands, look so closely that you can’t see what’s happening while you’re so focused on looking. I’ll be destroying your world from right here in the spotlight.
You’ll never see me coming until it’s too late.
I’ve only got one heart, and after I’ve pulled off my grand deception I’ll hand it right to her.
So, sit back, relax, and let my girl tell you our story. You’re in for one hell of a ride.

Review:

One hell of a ride it was! I’m just really conflicted beacuse there are a lot of things I loved, but a lot I didn’t.

“When I look at you, my head clears. Most times there’s a storm up in this brain of mine, but then you walk into a room and I can focus.”

So, Jay Fields barrels into Matilda’s life when he asks her dad to represent him in court because he wants to sue a reporter. Since that very first meeting it’s obvious that he’s got an agenda and that Matilda and her father are somehow part of his plan. Matilda not picking up on those very obvious tells was pretty naive, and I think that’s the best way to describe her. I’m not really a fan of her, she was too passive to everything that happened around her; it felt like her father, her friend, and then Jay, were actually telling her how to live her life. I don’t expect every female lead to be confident and badass, and I don’t even want that, but I would have liked to see Matilda grow more throughout the book; instead I feel like she was exactly the same from the beginning till the very end. Matilda had her moments though, she’s really sweet, and often sassy with Jay, and so their banter was adorable. On the other hand, Jason Fields is a sexy, mysterious illusionist, with a cheesy grin always at the ready! I absolutly loved the slow uncovering of his past, and his revenge plot, it was really, really well developed and intriguing. I also adored his shows! It was so exciting to read about him enthralling his audience, and me, with his tricks.

“The maybes could go on forever, Watson, but we both know that mystery is better than truth. So why not live with the magic? Be a kid again and believe in the fantastical. Life is more fun with a little smoke and mirrors.”

The romance was good, but I was more caught up with the mistery. I’m not sure why but I felt weirdly detached from the romance, even if Jay and Matilda were really cute together. Overall, it was a pretty good read for me, really well written, and most reviewers loved it, so give it a try!

img_0499img_0498

Leave a Reply

