Review: The Avery Shaw Experiment (Science Squad #1) by Kelly Oram

perf5.250x8.000.indd

Summary:

When Avery Shaw’s heart is shattered by her life-long best friend, she chooses to deal with it the only way she knows how—scientifically.

The state science fair is coming up and Avery decides to use her broken heart as the topic of her experiment. She’s going to find the cure. By forcing herself to experience the seven stages of grief through a series of social tests, she believes she will be able to get over Aiden Kennedy and make herself ready to love again. But she can’t do this experiment alone, and her partner (ex partner!) is the one who broke her heart.

Avery finds the solution to her troubles in the form of Aiden’s older brother Grayson. The gorgeous womanizer is about to be kicked off the school basketball team for failing physics. He’s in need of a good tutor and some serious extra credit. But when Avery recruits the lovable Grayson to be her “objective outside observer,” she gets a whole lot more than she bargained for, because Grayson has a theory of his own: Avery doesn’t need to grieve. She needs to live. And if there’s one thing Grayson Kennedy is good at, it’s living life to the fullest.

Review:

A friend of mine recommended this book to me. I started it yesterday and I finished it a few hours later because THIS BOOK IS SO FUCKING ADORABLE AND FLUFFY AND CUTE AWEOIGHJFDDOAS I AM DROWNING IN HEARTS AND STUFFED ANIMALS.

“When a girl lets you be the one to hold her as her entire world falls apart, even though you’re ass naked, it changes the way you see her.” 

I didn’t know I needed this book until I read it. Oh my god it is so great and so fucking cute and super funny. And Grayson is just hearteyes *faints*. Avery gets her heart broken by her best friend Aiden and to get over him, she turns it into a science experiment with the help of Aiden’s older brother Grayson. The two of them grow closer over the weeks that pass and they have such good chemistry, even though they are totally different. Grayson is the popular one, the jock, the womanizer while Avery is the one with social anxiety and the science nerd. But somehow it just fucking works.

“I’ve got news for you, Aves. When a guy says he wants to take you out in the name of science, he’s totally full of it. He really just wants to take you out.”

My heart is made of fluff right now. This book is so fucking sweet, but there are also so many funny moments is it that made you snicker and laugh out loud. And Grayson is such a flirt! I would totally be like Avery if some guy said the things to me that Grayson says to Avery, but reading it just make me love Grayson even more. If you love books with cuteness levels as high as Anna and the French Kiss and Fangirl, you will definitely love this book. It’s also a pretty fast read: I finished it under two hours. So if you are in a little reading slump, this book will definitely get you out of it.

“Damsels in distress have always been my Achilles’ heel, but don’t let that fool you. I’m really not that nice.”
“Yes, you are.”
“No, I’m not. If I was nice, I wouldn’t be having such a hard time not grabbing your butt right now.”

So yeah, I think I made it clear I love this book. Probably one of my new favorite fluffy reads now. If you read this book or if you have read any other books by Kelly, let me know down in the comments!

amy calloway sisters

 

Leave a Reply

