Review: Protecting Shaylee (The Fae Guard Series #1) by Elle Christensen

25414608

Summary:

Shaylee

As a child, I believed in the fairytales my father told me.
Until he was gone and with him, that belief.
As a girl, I believed in the friendship and protection of Aden.
He made me begin to believe again.
As a woman, I believed in the possibility of love and passion between myself and Aden.
Until he was gone and with him, my belief in magic and happy endings.

Aden

When she was a child, I was tasked with her protection.
As a girl, I became her friend.
As a woman, I could no longer see the child I knew and was forced to fight a growing attraction.
Unable to lie and unable to tell the truth, I left.
Now I’ve returned to give the knowledge I couldn’t before, that she is half Fae.
The darkness is stalking her and I am desperate to teach her what she needs to know to protect herself.
And determined to make her mine.

*Part of a series, while it can be read as a standalone, the story continues to build through the following books.
**Recommended for 18+ due to sexual content and language

Review:

I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I haven’t read many NA fantasy books, because I don’t generally enjoy them too much, but this one was pretty good and I was really intrigued by the fae world.

“We’ll go to Rien. You’ll be training. I’ll teach you how to protect yourself and others by using magic properly, as well as physical training.” That stops me short and my lips turn up in a wicked smile. “Are you telling me that eventually, I’ll be able to kick your ass?” Aden rolls his eyes, “You can certainly try, baby.”

Shaylee’s always believed in the fairy tales her dad used to tell her, until he was killed. She never thought about those stories again until Aden shows up again. He’s been part of her life since she can remember, never seeming to age, as a protector and hero at first, then as a friend, and as her biggest crush when she was old enough to develop those feelings. When she was nineteen they crossed the line, and then he’s disappeared for two years. Now he’s back and telling Shaylee that she’s of age now, she’s half fae, and she needs to go with him to train against the darkness that’s coming for her.

Shaylee glances around. “Is there a portal here or something? Do I need to grab a boot?” Her tone is laced with sarcasm and I echo it in my response. “Yeah, Shaylee. I’m taking you to Hogwarts. Did you bring your broom?”

I really, really loved Shaylee. She’s fierce and feisty, she doesn’t let anything bring her down. I also loved how she reacted to her attraction to Aden. Even if he broke her heart, she can see the truth beyond his actions, so she doesn’t let her insecurities take her away form what could make her happy. The two of them were pretty steamy together, they can’t keep their hands from each other; but they were also really cute, and their banter was awesome. Aden is kind of an old fashioned alpha male. He’s nice and funny, even if bossy. I didn’t like some of the things he did or thought (one thing in particular but that’s a big spoiler), but Shaylee didn’t mind so it’s ok.

The freedom to tell Shaylee that I love her anytime I want puts a bounce in my step. You don’t think I know that this makes me sound like a girl? I do, so shut the fuck up.

I really loved all of Aden’s friends so I’m looking forward to reading the next books. The storyline, although not particularly complicated, was enjoyable and fast paced. If you’re up for some steamy fae action this one’s for you.

img_0499img_0498

 

Leave a Reply

