Review: Lucky Penny by L.A. Cotton

26245851

Summary:

I was his lucky Penny. He was my light in the dark, hope in despair. Our bond was one of survival, friendship… first love.

But then we were ripped apart and Blake Weston became the memory I turned to when everything else in my life fell apart.

Seven years later, a summer working at Camp Chance is supposed to be my fresh start. Beautiful scenery and the chance to better the lives of foster children – kids like me. But when my eyes land on him across the fire, time stands still and feelings come rushing back to the surface. I thought I’d moved on, tucked him away in my heart. One look into his soulful blue eyes and I know I’m wrong. Blake Weston can heal the broken parts of me. Restore my hope. Love me.

It’s our second chance. A sign we are supposed to be together.

Isn’t it?

I was twelve when I survived the accident that killed my parents. Fourteen when I survived the devil. And sixteen, when I survived a heartbreak of the worst kind.

But in my twenty-three years, Blake Weston might just be the first thing I won’t survive.

Review:

I was kindly provided a copy by the author in exchange for an honest review, but I wasn’t expecting to love this book so much. It was so heartfelt, soulful and touching.

Penny gazed over at me as if I was her world, causing my stomach to knot tightly. I wanted to be her world. I wanted to give her the moon and the stars and everything between. She deserved it and so much more.

Penny and Blake met when they were both twelve, when Penny was sent to a group home after the tragic death of her parents. Both so young and scared, with no one to truly care for them, they turned to each other developing a strong and beautiful bond that eventually became love. Thanks to some flashbacks from Blake’s pov we get a heartbreaking look into their teenage lives; the way they became each other’s strenght and only hope for the future. They managed to survive so much, and still laugh and love so fully.

And just like that, Blake Weston pieced together the broken parts of me, all while tearing them back down. For the second time in my life.

Until one day everything crumbled and Blake left the house. Now seven years later, in a summer camp for fostered kids, they meet again. Penny’s had a really tough life; dealing with what was done to her in her childhood, she never managed to carry on a relationship, and she never stopped thinking about Blake. Even if she’s still broken, Penny is stronger than she gives herself credit for. I really felt for her, and wanted nothing more than for her to be happy.

Blake already owned my heart. He always had. But could I give him my damaged soul as well?

Blake is a sweetheart. Forget the bad boy, Blake is the real deal. He’s so sweet and full of life, every single one of his smiles felt like a blessing. Since when he first laid eyes on Penny he felt this powerful link to her, he started to do anything he could to make her feel better. And even now, after all those years, he still is the only one who can make her come back to life. He made some mistakes, he’s not perfect, but that just made him a whole lot more real to me. The development of their relationship was one of the most adorable I’ve ever read. There were some pretty huge obstacles along the way, but no one deserved an happily ever after as much as they did.

I was just a girl lying next to a boy watching the stars.

I started reading this book sitting on my bed, and I ended up curled in a ball, cradling my ereader, and just wishing for the best. The plot, the writing, the settings, the way some topics were dealt with, were all incredible and genuine.

img_0499img_0498

Leave a Reply

