Review: Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) by Victoria Aveyard

23174274

Summary:

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

Review:

I am a mess. This book was intense and a lot darker than Red Queen, and that took this series to a whole new level for me.

I am the little lightning girl, living electricity, a lightning bolt in human form. People know my name, my face, and my abilities. I am valuable, I am powerful, and Maven will do anything to stop me from striking back.

Glass Sword picks up exactly where Red Queen left off. Mare and Cal escaped Maven and are now with the Scarlet Guard, which is not necessary a good thing. What Mare needs to do now is to find all the newbloods, reds with silvers’ powers, on Julian’s list; but she needs to get to them before Maven does. So this book was all about this chase, and the pace was perfect. We get to explore Mare’s world through a lot of adventures filled with action and battles. Both Mare and Cal’s goal is revenge, vengeance against Maven.

If only I was strong enough to let the prince go and do what he would with his vengeance. To die or live as he saw fit. But I need him. And I can’t find the strength to let him go.

What I loved the most about this book is the way Mare changed. Too often in this genre we see characters going through terrible things and coming out of it as they were before, which is not believable. Mare lives through horrors that change her. She breaks down. She’s not sure who she is anymore and who she needs to be in order to save herself and the people she loves. She believes herself to be some kind of monster and sometimes she does make mistakes, she lies, and she takes some people’s choice away, but in the end her true self always comes back to the surface. Cal goes through something like that too. He’s not the boy he was before, but he’s lost everything. Plus, they always have to fight silvers, and Cal doesn’t want to kill his own kind. So he’s often mistrusted, even by Mare. Although, it seemed more like she was trying to convince herself not to trust him, not to feel anything for him.

Fire and lightning raised Maven up, and fire and lightning will bring him down.

Shade, Farley, and Kilorn all take part in Mare’s quest. I loved getting to see more of these characters, along with the new ones. As for Maven, I’ve seen a lot of bad reviews because people were rooting for him, and honestly I don’t get why. I liked Maven in Red Queen, then I felt his betrayal just as much as Mare did, and we all miss who he was; so yeah I’m mad with him and he’s just a kid, but he’s a kid with a lot of power, and that’s a really bad combination.

I fear I might not breathe again. Not because Maven still insists on tormenting me. No, the reason is much worse. Because I miss him. I miss the boy I thought he was.

I went through this book constatly feeling my heart in my throat. Then I cried a lot. And then the ending just plain ruined me. And now we wait. Sadly.

img_0499calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

