Review: I Pick You by Jettie Woodruff

28227364

Summary:

When I left Nashville, Tennessee, I knew deep in my heart I wouldn’t be back. I knew I would never be heard on every country music station around the world, and I would never step foot on the Grand Ole Opry stage. Cold hard guilt and responsibilities that I didn’t want forced me on a different path.
Me being responsible for an eighteen-month-old was a horrible idea. Me being a second grade teacher in a catholic school was plain ludicrous.
Life sucked, love hurt, and I didn’t know who to pick.

Review:

I was kindly provided an ARC copy by the author in exchange for an honest review, but I am very conflicted about this book. Of course we have a little baby making her dad fall in love with her, so that could melt even the coldest heart, but said dad is a douche to most women in his life, so.

I looked down at her chubby little cheeks, noticing my hand covering her entire back, trying to decipher the unfamiliar feelings. I followed Kit, keeping my eyes on this little person nestled in my arms while she talked. My little person.

It all starts with the mane character; the story is entirely told from Brantley’s point of view. He’s a young musician, still trying to figure out where his life is taking him, still not completely grown up, and definitely not ready to settle down. So when a girl from a one night thing, called him back because she was pregnant, he wanted nothing to do with it. Two years later, though, he finds himself trapped to babysit his daughter Bay for a whole year. And that’s how his life completely changes.

Something happened inside of me as her little eyes looked up to mine. I may have been in love for the first time in my life.

Brantley finds a house, finds a job as an elementary teacher, and starts to act as if he has everything under control. He’s a selfish man, who’s never been in love, and doesn’t know the first thing about being respectful to women. I don’t want all the characters I read about to be perfect, so I wasn’t put off by him. He grows up so much thanks to Bay, and I really loved that she was the only one to bring the best out of him, but I feel like he still had a long way to go before he could truly be forgiven. As for the romance, yes there’s a love triangle. Kit, Bay’s mom, and Rydell, another teacher at Brantley’s school. Kit isn’t there for most of the time, so Brantley developes a solid relationship with Rydell; what he wasn’t expecting was to develop feelings for Kit as well, through their daily skype calls for Bay. I liked how the triangle resolved, I think it was the right way to end things, but Brantley should have redeemed himself better to really deserve what he got in the end.

Everyone always said it would be a female that finally brought me to my knees, I just didn’t think it would be a little person.

In the end, it was a good read, well written, and cute for the most. We have a flawed hero, and only one little person with the power to change him.

img_0499calloway sisters

 

Leave a Reply

