Review: Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare

25494343

Summary:

The Shadowhunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadowhunters novel.

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

Glitz, glamours, and Shadowhunters abound in this heartrending opening to Cassandra Clare’s Dark Artifices series.

Review:

*SPOILER FREE*

I don’t even know where to start! I’m a huge Shadowhunters fan, and I was in love with these characters long before I got my hands on this book, and I wasn’t disappointed at all. I fell in love with them all over again since they grew up so much from the glimpses we got of them in City of Heavenly Fire.

Julian looked over and smiled. The smile made him look like sunlight in human form. It didn’t hurt that the dish towel around his neck had kittens on it, and there was pancake batter on his calloused hands.

After the events of the Dark War, Julian had to take over and take care of his brothers and sisters, he became a sort of parent to them, and so he had to give up to his childhood, to the lightheartedness of being with your siblings. He’s a precious angel, but don’t let that fool you, he’s ready to do anything to protect his family. Emma on the other hand, swore her life to resolving her parents’ murder and revenge them. That’s why she trained so much and became this badass shadowhunter, ready to fight and slay everyone and everything in her way. She’s like a fierce lioness, I’m madly in love with her to be honest.

“In Emma’s defense, Cameron’s annoying, but he’s hot.” Julian gave her a look. “I mean, if you like guys who look like a redheaded Captain America, which I… don’t?” “Captain AMerica is definitely the most handsome Avenger,” said Cristina. “But I like the Hulk. I would like to heal his broken heart.” “We’re Nephilim,” said Julian. “We’re not even supposed to know about the Avengers. Besides,” he added, “Iron Man is obviously the best-looking.”

Then  we have Mark Blackthorn (*cries*). He’s returned to the Institute as a pawn in some Faeries’ scheme. The time he spent in the Wild Hunt completely changed him, and it didn’t even feel like five years to him. Physically he looks just the same, but mentally he’s messed up. But it was so heartbreaking and emotional to see him slowly opening  up throughout the book.

Mark was slighter than he was, fragile under his hands. He would be holding Mark up from now on. It was not what he had imagined, dreamed of, but it was the reality. It was his brother. He tightened his hands on Mark and adjusted his heart to bear the new burden.

The rest of the Blackthorns stole my heart too, they’re all unique and lovable in their own way. Also Cristina Rosales joins the institue, and she’s another amazing female character you can’t help but love! She has secrets of her own, and I can’t wait to see where her story is going. I also liked that they all had a female tutor, Diana, fierce and strong.

When Emma was with him it was like he was breathing twice as much oxygen, had twice as much blood, had two hearts to drive the motion of his body. 

The plot is fast paced, the writing is flawless as always, and the world building is just amazing so that you can read this even without reading the other Shadowhunters novels (although I recommend you do). Cassie gives room to all the characters, to give each of them their own story, and I’m equally obsessed with them all. There are a lot of intrigues, and suspense, I couldn’t stop thinking about this book even if I wanted to. We get answers to a lot of questions, but there’s still so much to understand. THE ROMANCE! The romance ruined me! I wanted to read this as fast as I could but then I loved it so much that I never wanted it to end and it was also really emotional, so I had to give myself some breaks. I think this was probably the best opening novel of all Cassie’s series. I don’t want to betray TID, because that trilogy owns my heart, but I’m pretty sure TDA will be a really close second.

“Laws are meaningless, child,” Malcom said in a low voice that somehow still carried. “There is nothing more important than love. And no law higher.

The ending just plain killed me. I don’t think I’m strong enough to wait  a year for Lord of Shadows, but I’ll try. The first book in The Last Hours trilogy will hopefully help (it will not, it’ll kill me more but whatever I can’t wait).

img_0499img_0498

 

Leave a Reply

