Review: The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

ForbiddenWish_BOM.indd

Summary: 

She is the most powerful Jinni of all. He is a boy from the streets. Their love will shake the world…

When Aladdin discovers Zahra’s jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn’t seen in hundreds of years—a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra’s very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes.

But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity—only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart?

As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of Aladdin from acclaimed author Jessica Khoury.

Review:

A friend of me recommended this book to me and I’m so glad she did because THIS BOOK IS SO DARN AMAZING AAAAAAAAAAAAH!

“Time has a different meaning for me, and these events that seem so monumental in the moment will one day be nothing more than a line in a scroll. These humans are but letters to be inked into history. A hundred years from now, I will be free. I will have forgotten their names and faces, and the struggles they have will not matter.” 

This book tells the story of Zahra, a Jinni who’s lived over a thousand years, but has been trapped inside her lamp for the last 500 of them. But then Aladdin finds the lamp and she can grant him three wishes. Aladdin wants to take revenge on the people that killed his parents, and while Zahra is helping him, she’s also given a chance at freedom from the King of the Jinn. Aladdin is starting to grow on her, but she’s wanted freedom for as long as she’s been trapped inside the lamp. Will she give up freedom for love, or will she run from Aladdin, a free woman? 

“You’re very pretty,” he murmurs, his voice thick with sleep, “for a jinni.”
“Have you met many jinn?”
“No.” His lips curl into a dazed grin. “But I’ve met a lot of pretty girls.”

It’s a retelling of Aladdin this story, but told from the point of view of the jinni, Zahra in this case. And that is just so freaking awesome. It’s fantasy mixed with romance and also a touch of action. Perfect book in my eyes. It was also very well written and very fast paced. I loved Zahra from the very first page and Aladdin grew on me quickly as well. He reminded me a lot of Adrian Ivashkov, and you can not NOT love a guy who resembles your book husband. I also loved the Middle Eastern setting. It reminded me of The Wrath and the Dawn and since that is one of my favorite books, that was a huuuuge bonus too.

“You can’t choose what happens to you, but you can choose who you become because of it.”

All in all, it was just a really great book. I didn’t want to stop reading, I fell in love with the characters and the world they live in, and the story pulled me in from the start. It’s safe to say that it has entered the list of favorite books and I know that I’ll be reading this beauty a few times again.

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

