Review: Rewriting the Rules by S. Moose

21806943

Summary:

Off limits. Stay away.
Don’t even think about it.

I know the rules.
I repeat them endlessly in my head.
But damn it, I can’t stay away.
Can’t stop thinking about it. About her.

She’s perfect. Beautiful. Exceptional in every way.
When in the world did she grow up?
No! I refuse to touch her. I won’t do it.
But I did. Just once.
And now. I want more. So much more.
Once I’ve set my mind to something, nobody can stop me.
Not even him. Screw him.
He’s just my best friend.
She’s just his little sister.

Rules are meant to be bent.
Broken. Hell, rewritten.
How bad can it be?

Review:

I was kindly provived an ARC by the author in exchange for an honest review, so I tried, I really tried but I’m so sorry to say that this wasn’t for me. The blurb intrigued me but once I got to the actual thing I found it confusing, and I had to force myself to keep reading.

“God,” I wishper. “Why can’t I forget about you? Let me forget,” 

Charlotte is a confident girl, she knows her worth and I loved that but then she can’t stand to disappoint her brother, Will, and still I’m ok with that; but then she’s been in a long relationship with a guy who loves her only because her brother likes the guy (???). Ok, I can even  get past that but then in comes Troy, Will’s best friend, and apparently the love of Charlotte’s life. Where apparently is a key word since we only get a little glimps at their past together, and we don’t get to see how they fell in love. Even in the present, she finally decides to go after what she really wants and be with the only man she loves (although, she kind of gives up at the first rejection). Troy conveniently breaks up with his girlfriend on the day Charlotte shows up. Even if he was in a long relationship too, Troy hasn’t believed in love since Charlotte broke his heart; so now he doesn’t want to give in to his attraction to Charlotte. They keep pulling and pushing each other in a way that wasn’t interesting for me, but rather annoying. I couldn’t find it in me to care about either of them or whether they ended up together.

Life isn’t a fairy tale. I can’t expect love to happen in an instant or a blissful reunion.

I found both Charlotte and Troy’s inner monologues to be repetitive and confusing, because they both thought one thing and two lines after that they thought the opposite. I kept hoping that it would get better, but then they both give in suddendly, and even if they’d always been in love with each other it felt like insta-love. Definitely not my cup of tea.

img_0499calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

