Review: Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency #4) by Iain Reading

20935470

Summary:

Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic is the thrillingly cryptic fourth installment of the exciting Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series featuring the intrepid teenage seaplane pilot Kitty Hawk and her various adventures of mystery and intrigue as she follows in the footsteps of Amelia Earhart on an epic flight around the world. This fourth book in the series brings Kitty to the emerald hills of Ireland where she meets a handsome stranger and is quickly swept up in a perplexing hundred-year-old family treasure hunt involving secret codes and puzzling clues that lead her on a fast-paced adventure that carries her from Dublin to London – from the decks of the ill-fated ocean liner Titanic to the temples of ancient Egypt and the streets of Jack the Ripper – until she finally unlocks the mystery and discovers the long-hidden treasure. Much like the earlier books in this series, Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic is a perfect book to fire the imaginations of armchair detectives of all ages. Filled with fascinating and highly Google-able locations and history the reader will find themselves immersed in brand new worlds that are brought to life before their very eyes as Kitty Hawk experiences the stories and history of a doomed ocean liner and unravels the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic.

Review:

It’s been a while since I read the third book (so many books, too little time, I had to prioritize some), but I finally read the fourth book in the Kitty Hawk series. Iain, you said this was your favorite in the series. I totally understand why. This book was BRILLIANT!

“Kitty, I know I never should have picked you up and dragged you into this,” he said. “But you do realize that if you help me, it will make you accessory to a crime.”
“Pffft!” I replied dismissively. “It wouldn’t be the first time.” 

In this wonderful wonderful fourth book of the Kitty Hawk series, Kitty is in Ireland/England to resolve the mystery of a treasure that might have something do to with the Titanic. And she didn’t just stumble into this one, she was actually asked by a very handsome young fellow to help her, seeing she’s a one-woman flying detective agency and all that. And Kitty of course, can’t withstand a good mystery, so she dives right into the case to get to the bottom of it.

“The police?! I thought, my knees going weak when I heard the faint sound of a police siren somewhere in the distance. What in the world have I gotten myself mixed up in?” 

I hadn’t realized how much I had missed the world of Kitty Hawk until I dived into this book. I actually was able to read it in one day and it felt so good to be back with Kitty on her adventures. Not only does she get mixed up in the most crazy and amazing mysteries, but I get to see the world through the eyes of Kitty and learn a lot as well. Except for the decoding thing, I still have no idea how that works (my math is horrible. Oops).

“When did you get so paranoid?” the little voice in my head asked me. When everyone started plotting against me, I replied.” 

These books just keep getting better and better as the series continues, and I absolutely love that, seeing that’s not always the case with series, unfortunately. But in with these books, that’s not the case, and I’m so grateful and happy for that. I already started reading the fifth book, which is super exciting as well, so a review of that beauty will be up soon too.

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

