Review: The Bad Ones by Stylo Fantome

Summary:

Love isn’t always bright and shiny.

Sometimes, it’s dirty and wrong, buried six feet deep in a secret place where only wild things dare to go. Hidden behind a big black curtain that covers things no one should ever see.

Sometimes it happens between two people who should never be allowed to come together. One who is a match, and the other who just happens to be gasoline.

One strike is all it takes to burn the whole world down, and that’s exactly what they plan on doing.

Even if it kills them.

Review:

HOLY SHIT!

My throat is in knots, my heart feels heavy, my mind is blown… wtf did I just read?!

I didn’t know what to think of this book but I ended up being sucked up into the story!

It was nothing like I have read before. Words to describe it? EXTREMELY DISTURBING, SUSPENSEFUL, DEPRAVED, SMART, DEADLY, CRAZY AND INTENSE. I can’t explain it but it was also downright SCARY.

Half of the time I was feeling scared because of what was happening and sometimes I’m afraid for my sanity. I seriously got goosebumps. It freaked me out but dammit I was hooked!

“So scared of the big bad wolf.”
“I’m not … scared of you,” she managed to gasp out…
“Of course you aren’t scared of me. I’m not the wolf. You are.”

The Bad Ones is about two people who are drawn to each other because of the darkness they both felt they shared. I am not talking about darkness like it is some troubling past or some emotional euphemism. Nope. It means that there is something sinister about them.

Both of us. We’re the bad ones. Together.

There is no sugar-coating it, I think Constantine and Dulcie are sociopaths. They are like a”demented Bonnie and Clyde”. They do devious things as their brand of justice for those who wronged them.  It is hard to love Con and Dulcie but OMG Stylo Fantome written the characters’ POV so wickedly well. She went deeply to the psychology of the characters who are unapologetically and blatantly twisted and diabolical making it an intriguing and spell-binding read.

The best way I can explain my experience reading it is to compare it to watching a suspense movie about serial killers but the main characters are not the good guys but the serial killers themselves. And the kicker? I found myself rooting for the bad ones.

This book deeply left an impression on me. It will stay with me for a long time. But I got to admit this one really pushed my comfort zone to the point I needed a breather. No, the pigs are not flying. I’m a self-confessed dark rom junkie but I have my limits too. This book has an amazing and compelling writing style, but ultimately this book is not for everyone.  If you’re up for graphic violence, raw and gritty emotions, incredibly unique plot that was written in such an intelligent and enticing way then look no further. You must read this book.  

rheeza

Leave a Reply

