Review: Too Late by Colleen Hoover

54616251-368-k336073.jpg

Summary:

Sloan will go through hell and back for her little brother. And she does, every single night.

Forced to remain in a relationship with the dangerous and corrupt Asa Jackson, Sloan will do whatever it takes to make sure her brother has what he needs.

Nothing will get in her way.

Nothing except Carter.

Sloan is the only good thing to ever happen to Asa. He knows this and he never plans on letting her go; even if she doesn’t approve of his lifestyle. But despite Sloan’s disapproval, Asa knows what it takes to get what he wants. He knows what he needs to do to remain on top.

Nothing will get in his way.

Nothing except Carter.

Review:

First of all, this is a story CoHo wrote, in her free time, on Wattpad so you can read it for free here. You can basically forget your usual Colleen Hoover, though. This story is twisted, intense, and so, so dark; and I loved it.

I want to grab my bags and pack everything I own. I want to leave and never come back. I want out. I want out, I want out, I want out. But I can’t leave.

Sloan has been trapped in a relationship with Asa for years. He’s a drug dealer, he’s horrible, he’s in love with her, but he has no idea how to love or be loved. He mistreats her, he abuses her, he cheats on her. There’s really nothing to like about him. He hasn’t always been like this, though, he was nice with her at first, but then everything changed, and that’s when Sloan needed him the most, because she needed him to help her brother. That’s why she can’t leave. That’s why she fights that part of herself that wants to leave him so badly. It was all very violent, especially Asa’s pov, always pretty disturbing. I wanted to throw up every time he touched Sloan. But I still found myself glued to the pages.

There are smiles on both of our faces, but the fear in our eyes speaks volumes. We’re crossing a line, and we both know it.

Then in comes Carter. He gets into Asa’s circle, and sets his eyes on Sloan. It starts as harmless flirting but when they both find out each other’s connection to Asa things get more complicated. Asa is possessive, he’d kill anyone who’d dare to touch Sloan. But Carter and Sloan find themselves on the same side, and Carter can’t help wanting to save her. I really enjoyed how their relationship developed. There you can find the Colleen Hoover you love. The usual cute scenes, the sweet eye contacts, the intense hugs. The characters truly fall in love with each other and are adorable about it.

“If I come to your house tonight, I’m not even going to look in your direction,” he says. “But know that you’re all I see. You’re all I fucking see, Sloan.”

I was speechless through most of the book, I was anxious and nervous. There’s rape, and domestic violence, but I think CoHo dealt with it brilliantly. If you’re a fan of CoHo that doesn’t automatically mean that you’ll like this, on the contrary, because it’s a lot out of her element. I’m particularly conflicted on that last scene. I mean it was way too dark, but at the same time it was kind of fair? I don’t know, but it’s sure as hell that this book will take you out of your comfort zone. It’s free, though, so give it a try you’ll know soon enough if it’s something you’ll like or not.

img_0499img_0498

Leave a Reply

