Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

8909152

Summary:

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ”

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

Review:

I love Rainbow’s books, I do. I’ve read four books of hers and they were all amazing, so I thought it was time to finally read Attachments. And she just nailed it. So fucking cute.

“Do you believe in love at first sight?”
“I don’t know. Do you believe in love before that?”

This story is about Lincoln who just got a new job as an internet security officer, which sounds super fancy but in reality all he’s doing is checking and reporting other people’s emails within the company. That’s how he comes across Jennifer and Beth who are emailing with each other about their personal lives. And Lincoln can’t help but be intrigued. Especially by Beth. But after having read months of their e-mails, it’s a little too late to go up to her and introduce himself. 

“He tried not to love that she could recite scenes from Ghostbusters, that she liked kung fu movies and could name all of the original X-Men— because those seemed like reasons a guy would fall for a girl in a Kevin Smith movie.”

I loved the story, because I hadn’t read anything like it before and also because Rainbow has a way of making characters feel so real, with flaws and all. And I think that’s amazing. I also loved how the story alternated between Lincoln’s normal pov and then Jennifer and Beth’s e-mail exchanges. I thought that was really original and also quite nice to read. It would’ve been less cool if Lincoln was reading back their mails in his own pov’s, I think. So I  really liked that.

“Oh, yeah, life goes on, long after the thrill of living is gone.”

I haven’t read a book by Rainbow Rowell yet that I didn’t think was beautifully written. She’s definitely one of my favorite authors. And Attachments was just quirky and cute and real. And it’s a shame I hadn’t read this book until now.

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

