Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

17927395

Summary:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms–and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future–and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Review:

I’m a mess. No, seriously I say it often but I never meant it as much as I mean it now. The first book in this series was beautiful, with an amazing glittering world behind that wall; but there was only so much we saw of it, we were confined to the Spring Court and then Amarantha’s nightmarish court, which was impressive in its own way. But now, this world is amplified. Feyre’s bargain with Rhysand takes her to see so much more of this world, and Sarah’s writing enanches the beauty of every place they go to.

“She wins,” Rhys breathed. “That bitch wins if you let yourself fall apart.” I wondered if he’d been telling himself that for months now, wondered if he, too, had moments when his own memories sometimes suffocated him deep in the night.

I was in love with Tamlin as much as the next girl was, I mean how could you not? But something’s that always bugged at me in most fantasy books, is that these characters always meet in emotional and dire circumstances, and I get how a bond between them can spark a lot quicker than it does in real life; but after that HEA how do they make things work? Tamlin and Feyre are struggling; he’s really protective of her, but she’s not a helpless human anymore, and being confined in the house isn’t something she’s okay with. I also get why Tamlin doesn’t want to risk her life, of course, but it gets suffocating. And when Rhys comes to get his week with Feyre, she finds that breather she needed. She finds a world that’s beautiful and so much bigger than that Spring Court. And she finds in Rhys someone who’s been broken as much as she was, even more.

I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal. I was a survivor, and I was strong. I would not be weak, or helpless again. I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.

It’s like ACOTAR was just a prologue to a much more intricate and big story, and the plot gets so more complicated. There’s so much we didn’t know about Tamlin and Rhys’s past, so much we didn’t know about what’s actually going on, the war that’s about to begin. I heard so many people complaining about Sarah changing ships (again), but honestly, don’t hate this book on principle, read it with an open mind; everything is explained, there’s nothing that by the end of the book doesn’t add up. I was intrigued with Rhys since the first book, but I had my reservations, rightfully so, but don’t judge before you know everything.

“At least you make up for your shameless flirting by being one hell of a High Lord.” He’d returned smirking like a cat, had merely said “One hell of a High Lord?” by way of greeting. I’d sent a bucket’s worth of water splashing into his face. Rhys hadn’t bothered to shield against it. And instead shook his wet hair like a dog, spraying me until I yelped and darted away. His laughter had chased me up the stairs.

This book is what I call world and characters’ development. There are a set of new character whom I love so dearly. There are so many tender, scary, emotional, funny, and heartbreaking moments, never a dull one. I loved every page, and I hope you’ll give it a chance. It’s definitely worth it!

Love-love was a balm as much as it was poison.

Also THAT ENDING!!! DAMMIT SARAH, SPARE MY HEART FOR ONCE, WOULD YOU?

img_0499calloway sisters

 

2 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Wicked review, with series I find it is tricky to judge without having finished them. The first two books might be alright, then the third and the last come and suddenly everything makes complete sense and book one and two aren’t poorly constructed but purposefully constructed works. But as an author you got to give people a reason to carry on reading.
    Cool review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

