Review: The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan

26252859

Summary:

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disoriented, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.


Review:

Ahhhhh! I’m so satisfied! This was awesome, funny, and sassy. It’s a sequel to BoO, and we get to see most of our beloved characters, with a promise to see the ones who weren’t here in the next books! I’m so excited!

Is there anything sadder than the sound of a god hitting a pile of garbage bags?

So, Apollo is turned into a teenage boy, with acne, and mortality. He finds himself in New York, and he’s soon tied to a girl, named Meg, a demigod. They set off to find Percy and get to Camp Half-Blood. Seeing Percy seriously had me freaking out, I missed my seaweed brain, he’s all grown up and responsible now *sobs* Anyway, Apollo struggles with human’s emotions, and limitations; things he’s never had to live with before. It was truly interesting to see us humans through a god’s eyes, and extremely funny.

“Ah, I know this spirits!” I cried. “They are…um…” My brain clouded over. “What?” Percy demanded. “They are what?” “I’ve forgotten! I hate being mortal! Four thousand years of knowledge, the secrets of the universe, a sea of wisdom-lost, because I can’t contain it all in this teacup of a head!”

I absolutely adored Apollo’s development. At first he’s selfish, and kind of rude, but as he gets a handle of humanity, he starts to care about others, he starts to think about others first. It was hilarious to see him dealing with some of his demigods sons at CHB. Especially Will, and his boyfriend, Nico *squeals* The PJO and HoO references had me sobbing most of the time. I missed those characters, I missed this world; so thank you, Apollo for being cocky and making Zeus mad at you.

Will turned to me. “I apologize for my boyfriend.” Nico rolled his eyes. “Could you not-” “Would you prefer ‘special guy’?” Will asked. “Or ‘significant other’?” “Significant annoyance, in your case,” Nico grumbled. “Oh, I’ll get you for that.”

The ending made me so happy! More characters came back (I screamed so loud, my neighbours hate me), and others will be looked for in the next book, so I just can’t wait!

img_0499img_0498

Leave a Reply

