Review: So Much More by Kim Holden

29348304

Summary:

Love is strange. It comes out of nowhere. There’s no logic to it. It’s not methodical. It’s not scientific. It’s pure emotion and passion. And emotion and passion can be dangerous because they fuel love…and hate.

I’m now a reluctant connoisseur of both—an expert through immersion. I know them intimately.

When I fell in love with Miranda, it was swift and blind. She was the person I’d elevated to mythical status in my head, in my dreams.

Here’s the thing about dreams, they’re smoke.

They’re spun as thoughts until they become something we think we want. Something we think we need.

That was Miranda. She was smoke.

I thought I wanted her. I thought I needed her.

Over time reality crept in and slowly dissected and disemboweled my dreams like a predator, leaving behind a rotting carcass.

Reality can be a fierce bitch.

So can Miranda.

And I can be a fool…

who believes in dreams.

And people.

And love.

Note from the author: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is recommended for mature audiences only.

Review:

I’m completely in love with the hero of this story. Finally, finally the good guy shines, I’ve had enough of bad boys turned good by the right girl. Here you have a sweet, compassionate, and loving husband, and father, and person in general. Seamus is a saint. It’s Miranda you should fear.

I watch Seamus holding my daughter. He’s talking to her so softly I can’t hear him, but I can see his lips moving, and I know by the look on his face that every word he’s uttering is a promise. Promises he’ll keep until the day he dies. I can feel the love rolling off of him in waves. And it’s all for her. All of his attention. All of his commitment. Another child has captured his heart.

Miranda is a twisted woman. She’s been raised with so much hate, and expectations, and with the idea that every man is just a mean to a goal; with the idea that manipulation is the only way to get what you want. And that’s what she does. She’s good at understanding people, and knowing what they want, so she uses that knowledge to her advantage. She did with Seamus, and he fell in love with her. They had three beautiful children, and an unhealthy marriage. Until she divorced him, for a more powerful man. Seamus, on the other hand, is such an innocent person, almost naive. He loved Miranda, he always saw the best in people, but now he’s bitter and not so trusting. The only people he keeps loving with all he has, are his children, Rory, Kai and Kira. This little family of four melted my heart. I read about them and my heart-felt so full of unconditional love. Seamus is ready to fight for them, no matter the costs, especially when Miranda starts talking about having full custody of them.

And my heart shatters for the second time today. It’s blown apart into so many pieces, the shrapnel spread so far and wide, I know what remains will never fit back together again. Puzzles don’t work when you only have half of the pieces. Same goes for hearts.

I was really impressed with this book. It showed the good and bad sides of a family; it dealt with depression, multiple sclerosis, foster families, abuse; but also friendship, kindness, joy, second chances, and love, so much more than love. It was all really beautifully written, but there were a few parts that didn’t work so well for me, especially that last part with Faith, Seamus’s neighbour and love interest. She’s a truly interesting character.

Treating people well, not in the hopes that they’ll change, because sometimes people never change, keeps our hearts and minds free from the ugliness. I’m so fucking tired of feeling the ugliness. 

Overall, a good and inspiring read. I’m definitely going to read more of this author’s books!

img_0499img_0498

Leave a Reply

