Review: The Last Star (The 5th Wave #3) by Rick Yancey

16131489

Summary:

The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

Review:

I’ve been waiting for this book for a year. I’ve been mulling over everything that happened at the end of The Infinite Sea for a year. I’m so sad to say that I’m not satisfied at all. The 5th Wave was such an incredible book, and it had so much potential as the starter of a series; the sequel was almost as incredible for me, and then that ending opened so many possibilities, I was dying to keep reading. And then this happened. I’m not saying I’m completely disappointed with it, but it sure didn’t live up to my expectations. 

I read it in a little over a day, and I’m not sure if it was because I couldn’t put it down, or if I was just waiting for answers. What I know for sure is that I’m so damn confused. The first half of the book mostly revolves around what’s happening with all the characters, which wasn’t bad, but that’s where my confusion started.

Mmmh, I don’t remember Cassie being so obsessed with guys? I remember her as a badass and relatable characters, which she still is, but in a sillier way, somehow. The way she thinks about Evan is weird; and there’s a pretty awkward scene, I’m still kinda shuddering. Evan is… I guess he’s the usual Evan, I don’t know, he’s barely there? I mean, he’s there, but I can only think about three things he did in this book, and one is connected with that awkward scene.

Ringer… Ringer what are you doing exactly? I’m not sure if I’ve just completely forgotten what happened in the previous books, or these characters just changed overnight. I even missed how she passed from one side to the other one throughout this book, to be honest, and when she did something that resulted in a particular condition she finds herself in at the end.

Then we have Ben; he’s probably the only savable one. He’s thoughts are understandable, and often make sense, aside from the ones about her sister. I’m not sure why she’s so often mentioned so flippantly in this book? Oh, yeah, not to mention the sudden relationship between Ben and Ringer. I don’t know, it was out of the blue for me. This story could have gone a lot better without romance at all, in my opinion.

He was a finisher who could not finish. His was the heart of a hunter who lacked the heart to kill. In her journal she had written ‘I am humanity’, and something in those three words splintered him in two. She was the mayfly, here for a day, then gone. She was the last star, burning bright in a sea of limitless black.

The plot was what saved this book. The second half is full of action, and I was truly hooked. But, yeah, there are some plot-wholes, and I’m not completely satisfied with the answers we got. There were some thoughtful and emotional scenes, one had me tearing up, the other one had me a little mad because it’s unfortunately becoming predictable in this genre. I’m not making much sense, I’m sorry, but I hate writing “bad” reviews, and I really wanted to love this one. You should probably give it a try since many people loved it, though, and I sincerely hope you do too.

img_0499img_0498

Leave a Reply

