Review: Coast (Kick Push #2) by Jay McLean

30192405

Summary:

One life-changing summer.
One boy.
The boy.
The boy who offered me safe touches and heart-stopping smiles – smiles he shared with his son.
We filled our days with porch-step kisses,
filled our ears with laughter,
filled our hearts with love.
Deep, soul-aching, desperate love.
But love is misleading.
It’s an invisible, fleeting moment.
Somewhere between false adoration and pure hatred comes an emotion, a vulnerable need, a single desire.
It lives within the ones who miss it, who crave it,
who know better than to expect it.
Love is relentless.
Even when that love turns to hate, turns to loathing,
turns to pain.
Love should heal you.
But it can also break you.
Believe me, I know…
Because I’m Becca Owens – a broken girl…
…And he’s Josh Warden – the boy who broke me.

Review:

By now, everyone knows I love Jay McLean’s books, whenever a new one is announced I automatically pre-order it, but Coast has been on my mind since I read Kick, Push (review here). I’ve been waiting to read this for almost a year, I haven’t been able to get Becca, Josh and Tommy out of my head, so you can imagine my happiness when I was given an ARC by Jay McLean herself *dies* My expectations were extremely high, and, as always, McLean delivered! I couldn’t be happier with this ending.

and I felt the same thing I felt the moment I fell in love with skating. The moment I fell in love with her. She made me feel weightless, feel free, feel airborne. So I kicked, and I pushed, and for the past year, that’s all I’ve been doing because it didn’t feel the same and I knew in my heart that without her, I’d never be able to coast.

Kick, Push ended on a pretty sad note, I cried like a baby for a long while, but there was also a hopeful vibe to it; these characters had to find themselves, to follow their dreams, and become their own person before they could commit to someone else so wholly. And that’s what they’ve been doing for the past year. Josh’s become a pro-skater, he’s got money and fame, but he’s still the same sweet and humble guy he’s always been; completely in love and devoted to his kid, and still waiting for the one girl who stole both Josh and Tommy’s hearts: their Becca.

She’s in college, finally doing something for herself. She lives with her dad, who’s been helping her, along with her therapist, to overcome her fears. Becca’s past of abuse and neglect is still haunting her, but she’s stronger than ever. But one of the few fears she still hasn’t faced is Josh, and her feelings for him. As they meet again they start working out their relationship, but their feelings for each other are still there, and they can’t fight them for long.

My safe place isn’t a place. It’s bright brown eyes and shaggy dark hair atop identical smiles. It’s the sound of laughter, of the spinning of four wheels on concrete. 

This book is an emotional journey towards recovery, acceptance, forgiveness, and love. It was the perfect conclusion for these characters. McLean’s words just melted my heart; especially the way she explored the various relationships. I adore Becca and Josh, but I loved their relationship with Tommy (nothing’s cuter than that kid and Josh being the hottest-cutest daddy ever), with their parents, and with grams, just as much. The focus is on their love story, but all around them there’s the world, and it doesn’t stop for them. So, they have to face it. It felt so damn real and wonderful.

“I would love nothing more than to be your hero, Becca Owens.”

Beautifully written, gut-wrenching, adorable, funny. Get ready to Coast.

img_0499img_0498

 

Leave a Reply

