Review: A Bloody Kingdom (Ruthless People #4) by J.J. McAvoy

Summary:

It has been eight years since the Callahans defeated Avian Doers and conquered Chicago. Melody is now the Governor and public face of the family, while Liam rises as the Ceann na Conairte of both the Irish and Italians.

Their reach is limitless; their power endless…but is it possible to have too much power? Can Liam and Melody raise a family, a city, and an empire?

Only a fool would try to stop them now….

Review:

First of all, I have to start this ‘review’ by screaming from the top of my lungs – THIS BOOK WRECKED ME!!! There, now I can be more composed. Sort of. Well, ok fine who am I kidding I am still reeling from this book. I have been warned that this is going to be painfully gut wrenching but holy shit did it felt like I have been hit my truck. I’m not complaining though because this book was BLOODY BRILLIANT. An epic emotional roller coaster that I’m more than willing to go through multiple times.

a bloody kingdom

A Bloody Kingdom is the last installment in the Ruthless People series. It’s not a secret that I am a huge fan of JJ McAvoy and this series is my ultimate favorite. Romantic suspense doesn’t cover it. SPELLBINDING, THRILLING, INTENSE, PASSIONATE, WITTY, BOLD, AND INTRIGUING. These are just some of the words I have to describe this series. Every book was like watching an action-packed movie with intoxicating storyline and compelling characters and the author delivered the finale with a bang!  As expected there was action, mystery, danger, dark humor, romance and steamy moments, and of course it is not a JJ McAvoy book without a mind blowing twist. I was on the edge of my seat and my heart was beating so wildly from all the suspense! And OMG the last few chapters broke me!! I was literally sobbing so hard because I am totally invested with these characters. The underlying sense of danger and the flow of the actions are effortless. A Bloody Kingdom is really a devious, smart and well-written book that will keep you captive until the very last page.

Now I would like to talk about the characters.

Melody Nicci Giovanni Callahan

“I’ve seen men much stronger and much more ruthless try to stand in front of Melody Nicci Giovanni Callahan; none of them are alive to tell the tale.”

The most badass female character I have ever read. I swear no one can top her. She’s a lioness personified. Lethal, elegant, fierce, and regal. Impatient but shrewd and cunning. She can be cold and aloof but no one can question her love for her children and Liam.

Liam Alec Callahan

“I may wear a suit. I may go to church. But the last thing I am, wife, is civilized. I’m not going to play games with these people. If I have to drop bombs on all of China then I will. There will be revenge for today.”

A wicked grin spread across her red lips. “Now you’re just trying to turn me on.”

“Why were you off to begin with?” I winked before stepping out.

Commanding, cocky, charming, devoted, ruthless and dangerous. I love his complexities. He is the Don so he can really be frightening and intimidating but he is the affectionate and romantic one in their relationship.

17knne.gif

Melody and Liam Callahan, The Ceann na Conairte of the Italian and Irish mafia. They’re the definition of power couple. Their hunger for world domination makes them a formidable force to be reckoned with. They’re extraordinary, unforgettable and powerful characters, which is why they are my favorite book couple ever.

The rest of the Callahan family; Declan and Coraline, Neal and Mina, Melody and Liam’s children; Ethan, Wyatt and Dona are also worth mentioning. And (Highlight to see spoiler: //FEDEL!!!! I’m still so sad and bitter that he died!//)They’re all so interesting and relevant.

I miss them already. I want them back. I love these cast of characters so much!! Melody and Liam! My queen and king! I will always love them! But now, I can’t wait to read the Callahan Kids’ spin off series, Children of Vice!

This series had such a fantastic storyline and I was thoroughly enraptured from beginning to end. I can’t praise it enough. I know, I know. This was not a proper review but just me raving about how much I adore this series. 😉

So what are you waiting for? Go read this series if you still haven’t!!


rheeza

One thought on “Review: A Bloody Kingdom (Ruthless People #4) by J.J. McAvoy

Leave a Reply

