Review: The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer #1) by Jenny Han

5821978

Summary:

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer–they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

Review:

So, I was looking for something light and easy to read, and I found it! I’ve been reading a lot of dark fantasy novels lately, and there are some pretty great fantasies releasing these days, so a summery, teenage love read was what I needed. 

The writing style is simple and reflects perfectly Belly’s character. She’s a young girl, dealing for the first time with boys giving her attention, and wanting to just enjoy her favorite time of the year. She’s spent every summer with the Becks boys since she was really little, and she’s had a crush on Conrad since forever. But both boys have always seen her as a little kid, even if maybe this is the summer when everything changes.

I’ve seen a lot of reviews saying that Belly is annoying. Well, she’s annoying as most teenagers with a crush. I mean, most of us went through that phase in which we wanted to be treated as adults, but we definitely weren’t adults. When that happens in front of your crush, it can be pretty upsetting. And Belly just acts like the 15-year-old girl that she is.

You can also see her growing up, though. And that’s what I think Jenny Han does best; along with the endings! I love how she ends her books. I feel like keep reading this series is entirely my choice, not because I think I won’t enjoy the next books, but simply because this ending can be satisfying on its own. Then, of course, I’m a very curious person so I need to read the next books. I’m actually very excited to see what’s going to happen next!

img_0499img_0498

 

Leave a Reply

