Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

17838528

Summary:

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

Review:

This is my second Morgan Matson’s book and I found all the things I loved from Since You’ve Been Gone in this one. The amazing friendships, the cute romance, the family drama, which are pretty common in this genre, but what’s unique about it all it’s how real and how honest these relationships felt.

Andie is just planning her summer, but everything changes and she finds herself getting a summer job walking dogs. That’s definitely something I loved! I love dogs and seeing how Andie slowly found her way with them. Andie’s always avoided attachments, aside from her friends, Palmer, Bri and Toby, she’s never been really close with anyone. So, it’s always been safe to have a boyfriend for a couple of weeks, never getting to close, never talking too much, never risking getting hurt. Until she meets Clark, and he’s not that kind of guy, he actually wants to know her.

“I looked up at him, and a thought passed through my brain before I could stop or analyze it. It’s you, of course it is. There you are.”

They’re obviously made for each other, but I loved that their first date was a disaster! It was a nice change, and I loved how things developed from there. Clark is completely different from Andie. He’s perfect! I’m so in love with him! Anyway, he’s a fantasy novel writer (dreamy eyes) he’s honest, he’s open, he wants to talk feelings. He pushes Andie in just the right ways. It was also incredibly cute how he worked his way into this group of friends, and his bromance with Palmer’s boyfriend, Tom. I absolutely adored the group friendship. These girls couldn’t be more different from one another but they work. I loved their group chat, their games, so funny and cute. And I loved how their friendship was tested. Also, Andie and her dad! Oh, how I loved that! They end up sharing this summer, and they slowly discover each other again. It was truly emotional, and one of the best parts of this book.

I could do this. If whole galaxies could change, so could I.

Overall, a great and cute summer read. With great character development. I only wish Matson would include more diverse representation in her books. That would take her to the next level.

img_0499img_0498

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

