Review: Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

23228

Summary:

This is the story of Paul, a sophomore at a high school like no other: The cheerleaders ride Harleys, the homecoming queen used to be a guy named Daryl (she now prefers Infinite Darlene and is also the star quarterback), and the gay-straight alliance was formed to help the straight kids learn how to dance.

When Paul meets Noah, he thinks he’s found the one his heart is made for. Until he blows it. The school bookie says the odds are 12-to-1 against him getting Noah back, but Paul’s not giving up without playing his love really loud. His best friend Joni might be drifting away, his other best friend Tony might be dealing with ultra-religious parents, and his ex-boyfriend Kyle might not be going away anytime soon, but sometimes everything needs to fall apart before it can really fit together right.

This is a happy-meaningful romantic comedy about finding love, losing love, and doing what it takes to get love back in a crazy-wonderful world.

Review:

What a wonderful read! Seriously, this is exactly what the title says: a boy who meets a boy. It’s as simple as that.

I am amazed at the randomness, the comedy, and the faith that brings us all together and makes us hold on.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour & David Levithan

27158835

Summary:

Who knows you well? Your best friend? Your boyfriend or girlfriend? A stranger you meet on a crazy night? No one, really?

Mark and Kate have sat next to each other for an entire year, but have never spoken. For whatever reason, their paths outside of class have never crossed.

That is, until Kate spots Mark miles away from home, out in the city for a wild, unexpected night. Kate is lost, having just run away from a chance to finally meet the girl she has been in love with from afar. Mark, meanwhile, is in love with his best friend Ryan, who may or may not feel the same way.

When Kate and Mark meet up, little do they know how important they will become to each other—and how, in a very short time, they will know each other better than any of the people who are supposed to know them more.

Told in alternating points of view by Nina LaCour and David Levithan, You Know Me Well is a story about navigating the joys and heartaches of first love, one truth at a time.

Review:

You guys! This book! Beautiful! Heartwarming! Overwhelming! It wasn’t even perfect, there were a few things I didn’t like, but I don’t even care because it made me feel so much! Pleeeease read it!

Hiding and denying and being afraid is no way to treat love. Love demands bravery. No matter the occasion, love expects us to rise.

Continue reading

Recommendation Saturday: standalones

Hi all! We’ve been thinking that there are some awesome book series out there, but there are even more amazing standalone books that are being begged to be read. So we thought we’d share our favorite standalones with you right here! Let us know down in the comments which one you’ve read or if you have a great book you would recommend.

11250317The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller 

A tale of gods, kings, immortal fame, and the human heart, The Song of Achilles is a dazzling literary feat that brilliantly re-imagines Homer’s enduring masterwork, The Iliad. An action-packed adventure, an epic love story, Miller’s debut novel has already earned resounding acclaim from some of contemporary fiction’s brightest lights. Fans of Mary Renault, Bernard Cornwell, Steven Pressfield, and Colleen McCullough’s Masters of Rome series will delight in this unforgettable journey back to ancient Greece in the Age of Heroes.

9361589The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called “Le Cirque des Reves,” and it is only open at night.

Read a review about The Night Circus here. Continue reading

Bookreleases in July

New month, new books! Do you also have trouble keeping up with when which book comes out? We know the feeling.. That’s why we will post an overview every month of the books that come out in that month. Which book are you most excited for this month? 

July 7th:

 Chasing River (Burying Water #3) by K.A. Tucker
Armed with two years’ worth of savings and the need to experience life outside the bubble of her Oregon small town, twenty-five-year old Amber Welles is prepared for anything. Except dying in Dublin. Had it not been for the bravery of a stranger, she might have. But he takes off before she has the chance to offer her gratitude. (more

 

22925912

Pain & Rule (Pure Corruption MC #1) by Pepper Winters

She is a woman divided. Her past, present, and future are as twisted as the lies she’s lived for the past eight years. Desperate to get the truth, she must turn to the one man who may also be her greatest enemy . . .

He is the president of Pure Corruption MC. A heartless biker and retribution-deliverer. (more)

italy_quality_flag_circle_sticker-rf5ddc720fe054927a4fb16be480ac15e_v9waf_8byvr_324 Manwhore +1 (Manwhore #1) by Katy Evans

Billionaire playboy? Check.
Ruthless businessman? Check.
Absolutely sinful? Check.
Malcolm Saint was an assignment. A story. A beautiful, difficult man I was supposed to uncover for a racy exposé. (more)

20632298

Toxic by Kim Karr

He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not…

New York Times bestselling author Kim Karr turns up the heat in a smoking hot, emotionally compelling new novel that takes you into the world of Manhattan’s elite.(more)

 

July 21st: 

Pale Kings and Princes (TfSA #6) by Cassandra Clare and Robin Wasserman

Simon has an encounter with Downworlders and is reprimanded for not following the rules for Academy students interacting with Downworlders. A story within a story: Andrew Blackthorn, while a student at the Academy, becomes enthralled by a faerie and has two children with her: Mark and Helen. (more)

July 28th:

Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout:

Some loves will last ’til your dying breath.
Every choice has consequences—but seventeen-year-old Layla faces tougher choices than most. Light or darkness. Wickedly sexy demon prince Roth, or Zayne, the gorgeous, protective Warden she never thought could be hers. Hardest of all, Layla has to decide which side of herself to trust. (more)

Racing the Sun by Karina Halle:

From the USA TODAY bestselling author of Where Sea Meets Sky comes a new adult novel about a young woman who becomes a nanny in Capri and falls for her charges’ bad-boy brother. It’s time for twenty-four-year-old Amber MacLean to face the music. After a frivolous six months of backpacking through New Zealand, Australia, and Southeast Asia, she finds herself broke on the Mediterranean without enough money for a plane ticket home to California. (more)

Him by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy:

They don’t play for the same team. Or do they?
Jamie Canning has never been able to figure out how he lost his closest friend. Four years ago, his tattooed, wise-cracking, rule-breaking roommate cut him off without an explanation. So what if things got a little weird on the last night of hockey camp the summer they were eighteen? It was just a little drunken foolishness. Nobody died. (more)

Another Day by David Levithan

The eagerly anticipated companion to David Levithan’s New York Times bestseller Every Day.
In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David Levithan (co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green) tells Rhiannon’s side of the story as she seeks to discover the truth about love and how it can change you. (more)

calloway sisters