Review: Raw (RAW Family #1) by Belle Aurora

20421367

Summary: 

Growing up the way I did, you’d think I’d be more screwed up than what I actually am.

Soon as I turned sixteen, I left that bump in the road I called home and took my chances on the street.

Best decision I ever made.

Now, at the age of twenty six, I’m educated, employed and damn good at my job.

My friends have become my family. Like me, they know what it’s like to grow up unloved.

But the saying is true.

The world makes way for those who know where they are going.

That’s me.

I know where I’m going and I’ll get there eventually. On my own terms and at my own pace.

But then there’s him.

I feel his eyes on me. I see him hiding in plain sight. He watches me.

He makes me feel.

It’s unconventional.

But it’s real.

I’m sure you’re wondering how a person falls in love with their stalker.

So am I.

This isn’t a story.

This is my life.

Review: 

Hello, Paula and Alex here!  We seriously think that quote describes this book perfectly, plus isn’t it just completely true? We started this book thinking it would be intriguing at best, but we fell in love with it. This kind of stories make you think a lot, one part of us (more specifically, the feminist one) was saying no, just don’t. Stay away from him. But the romantic in us was just hoping everything could be fixed.

“We’re all addicted to something that takes away the pain.”

Our main character Alexa Ballentine is the bomb.  She is a social worker who takes her job seriously, and to be quite honest, she does it perfectly. She is so close and sweet to her “kids” as she likes to call them. But her kindness, selfless and good demeanor is not the only thing that made us fell in love with her. She’s smart, a real survivor and witty.  She thankfully is not like all the annoying main characters we usually find in these books. (Hallelujah!)

“I don’t want a knight in shining armor. I want a knight in scuffed armor. I want his helmet to have dents. I want my knight to be real, and dark, and savage. I want my knight to be a survivor. Someone who’s been tested and got through his trials. Not some pussy in gleaming metal. I don’t want gleaming metal. I don’t need a fucking knight. I need a fearless warrior. I need Twitch.”

Lexi has a stalker. Meet Twitch. He’s just a really complicated character, we can’t even describe him. He has serious issues and he often states something is not “right” in his head. He’s impulsive, cruel, possessive and dominant, but deeply he’s just so wounded and hurt. He’s just scarred after the rough past he had. He gave us contradictory feelings all the time, we wanted to protect him but at the same time we wanted to hate him because he really is not a good person. Together, they make this dysfunctional couple that brings the best and the worst of each other.

“This is just how I pictured it in my head.  Raw and gritty, and dirty as hell.”

Obviously, sexuality plays a major role in this book. Those steamy scenes could definitely be described as extreme and hot. But if you don’t like descriptive BSDM sex scenes, then maybe this isn’t for you. The other secondary characters are really interesting, Lexi’s friends  and Michael were darlings and Twitch’s friends (*fans herself*) have such a mysterious and dark life, you just want to know it all. We are still trying to recover from the way the epilogue played with our little hearts; it will hit you in the feels good, aka expect the worst and then cry.

“Sometimes, when you look close enough at a person hoping to find clarity, the image of the person becomes so hazy, so distorted, that all you’re left with is unclear thoughts and more questions.”

All in all, the whole book had us intrigued, horrified and extremely hooked. We completely recommend it, but be aware this is a story about love gone wrong. The next book is about Julius and we already need that in our lives.  We literally can’t wait, although sadly there isn’t a publishing date set yet but we need it now!

unnamed paula

 

 

 

calloway sisters

Leave a comment